Franchise Facts Report → compare → CruiseOne vs Motel 6
CruiseOne vs Motel 6
Two travel & hospitality franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.
| CruiseOne | Motel 6 | |
|---|---|---|
| Total initial investment FDD Item 7 | $2,290 – $20,695 | $195,259 – $1,470,540 |
| Initial franchise fee FDD Item 5 | $10,500 | — |
| Royalty FDD Item 6 | 1.5% | 5% |
| Item 19 earnings disclosed FDD Item 19 | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Avg unit revenue (headline) FDD Item 19 | $511,424 | — |
| Franchised outlets FDD Item 20 | 2,515 | 1,206 |
| Net outlet change (latest yr) FDD Item 20 | +339 | -1 |
| Closure rate FDD Item 20 | 5.9% | 3.4% |
| Franchisee lawsuits FDD Item 3 | 0 | disclosed |
| Risk level our read | Low | Medium |
| FDD year registration | 2026 | 2024 |
Are CruiseOne and Motel 6 the same company?
No — CruiseOne and Motel 6 are franchised by separate companies. CruiseOne's franchisor is CruiseOne, LLC; Motel 6's is G6 HOSPITALITY FRANCHISING LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
Cost to open
CruiseOne is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $2,290 – $20,695, against $195,259 – $1,470,540 for Motel 6.
How much does each make? (Item 19)
Only CruiseOne disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation (headline average unit revenue $511,424), while Motel 6's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Closures & failure rate
CruiseOne reports 2,515 franchised outlets, net change +339 in the latest reported year, a 5.9% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Motel 6 reports 1,206 franchised outlets, net change -1 in the latest reported year, a 3.4% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate; the full report puts both brands' churn against travel & hospitality medians.
Litigation
CruiseOne discloses no franchisee-initiated proceedings in FDD Item 3. Motel 6 discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (case detail in the full report).
This page is the headline numbers. The Deep report compares up to three brands on the complete FDD record — every fee line, the actual Item 19 figures and what they represent, each lawsuit, and churn benchmarked against travel & hospitality peers.
Only looking at one of them?
CruiseOne vs Motel 6 — frequently asked
Are CruiseOne and Motel 6 the same company?
No — CruiseOne and Motel 6 are franchised by separate companies. CruiseOne's franchisor is CruiseOne, LLC; Motel 6's is G6 HOSPITALITY FRANCHISING LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
What is the difference between CruiseOne and Motel 6?
CruiseOne and Motel 6 are travel & hospitality franchises from different franchisors (CruiseOne, LLC and G6 HOSPITALITY FRANCHISING LLC). CruiseOne is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $2,290 – $20,695, against $195,259 – $1,470,540 for Motel 6. Only CruiseOne disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation (headline average unit revenue $511,424), while Motel 6's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Is CruiseOne more profitable than Motel 6?
Only CruiseOne disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation (headline average unit revenue $511,424), while Motel 6's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Which is cheaper to open — CruiseOne or Motel 6?
CruiseOne is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $2,290 – $20,695, against $195,259 – $1,470,540 for Motel 6.
Is CruiseOne or Motel 6 growing faster?
CruiseOne reports 2,515 franchised outlets, net change +339 in the latest reported year, a 5.9% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Motel 6 reports 1,206 franchised outlets, net change -1 in the latest reported year, a 3.4% closure rate (FDD Item 20).
Go deeper on each brand
Travel & hospitality rankings
Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (CruiseOne 2026, Motel 6 2024). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.