Franchise Facts Report → compare → Circle K (Standard) vs Genji Sushi Bars
Circle K (Standard) vs Genji Sushi Bars
Two other franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.
| Circle K (Standard) | Genji Sushi Bars | |
|---|---|---|
| Total initial investment FDD Item 7 | $8,281,500 – $8,381,500 | $42,170 – $133,500 |
| Initial franchise fee FDD Item 5 | — | $4,500 |
| Royalty FDD Item 6 | 3.5% | 1% |
| Item 19 earnings disclosed FDD Item 19 | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Avg unit revenue (headline) FDD Item 19 | in report | — |
| Franchised outlets FDD Item 20 | 41 | 37 |
| Net outlet change (latest yr) FDD Item 20 | +30 | +24 |
| Closure rate FDD Item 20 | 0% | — |
| Franchisee lawsuits FDD Item 3 | disclosed | 0 |
| Risk level our read | Medium | Medium |
| FDD year registration | 2024 | 2024 |
Are Circle K (Standard) and Genji Sushi Bars the same company?
No — Circle K (Standard) and Genji Sushi Bars are franchised by separate companies. Circle K (Standard)'s franchisor is TMC FRANCHISE CORPORATION; Genji Sushi Bars's is HANA GROUP FRANCHISING, LLC D/B/A GENJI FRANCHISING, LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
Cost to open
Genji Sushi Bars is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $42,170 – $133,500, against $8,281,500 – $8,381,500 for Circle K (Standard).
How much does each make? (Item 19)
Only Circle K (Standard) disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Genji Sushi Bars's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Closures & failure rate
Circle K (Standard) reports 41 franchised outlets, net change +30 in the latest reported year, a 0% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Genji Sushi Bars reports 37 franchised outlets, net change +24 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate; the full report puts both brands' churn against other medians.
Litigation
Circle K (Standard) discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (case detail in the full report). Genji Sushi Bars discloses no franchisee-initiated proceedings in FDD Item 3.
This page is the headline numbers. The Deep report compares up to three brands on the complete FDD record — every fee line, the actual Item 19 figures and what they represent, each lawsuit, and churn benchmarked against other peers.
Only looking at one of them?
Circle K (Standard) vs Genji Sushi Bars — frequently asked
Are Circle K (Standard) and Genji Sushi Bars the same company?
No — Circle K (Standard) and Genji Sushi Bars are franchised by separate companies. Circle K (Standard)'s franchisor is TMC FRANCHISE CORPORATION; Genji Sushi Bars's is HANA GROUP FRANCHISING, LLC D/B/A GENJI FRANCHISING, LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
What is the difference between Circle K (Standard) and Genji Sushi Bars?
Circle K (Standard) and Genji Sushi Bars are other franchises from different franchisors (TMC FRANCHISE CORPORATION and HANA GROUP FRANCHISING, LLC D/B/A GENJI FRANCHISING, LLC). Genji Sushi Bars is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $42,170 – $133,500, against $8,281,500 – $8,381,500 for Circle K (Standard). Only Circle K (Standard) disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Genji Sushi Bars's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Is Circle K (Standard) more profitable than Genji Sushi Bars?
Only Circle K (Standard) disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Genji Sushi Bars's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Which is cheaper to open — Circle K (Standard) or Genji Sushi Bars?
Genji Sushi Bars is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $42,170 – $133,500, against $8,281,500 – $8,381,500 for Circle K (Standard).
Is Circle K (Standard) or Genji Sushi Bars growing faster?
Circle K (Standard) reports 41 franchised outlets, net change +30 in the latest reported year, a 0% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Genji Sushi Bars reports 37 franchised outlets, net change +24 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20).
Go deeper on each brand
Other rankings
Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Circle K (Standard) 2024, Genji Sushi Bars 2024). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.