Franchise Facts Report → compare → Great Clips vs House of Color
Great Clips vs House of Color
Two other franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.
| Great Clips | House of Color | |
|---|---|---|
| Total initial investment FDD Item 7 | $14,000 – $46,000 | $27,845 – $57,700 |
| Initial franchise fee FDD Item 5 | $35,000 | $24,500 |
| Royalty FDD Item 6 | — | 4% |
| Item 19 earnings disclosed FDD Item 19 | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Avg unit revenue (headline) FDD Item 19 | in report | — |
| Franchised outlets FDD Item 20 | 4,439 | 266 |
| Net outlet change (latest yr) FDD Item 20 | +12 | +59 |
| Closure rate FDD Item 20 | 2.3% | 6.3% |
| Franchisee lawsuits FDD Item 3 | — | 0 |
| Risk level our read | Medium | Medium |
| FDD year registration | 2025 | 2025 |
Are Great Clips and House of Color the same company?
No — Great Clips and House of Color are franchised by separate companies. Great Clips's franchisor is GREAT CLIPS INC; House of Color's is House of Colour USA, Inc.. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
Cost to open
Great Clips is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $14,000 – $46,000, against $27,845 – $57,700 for House of Color.
How much does each make? (Item 19)
Only Great Clips disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while House of Color's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Closures & failure rate
Great Clips reports 4,439 franchised outlets, net change +12 in the latest reported year, a 2.3% closure rate (FDD Item 20). House of Color reports 266 franchised outlets, net change +59 in the latest reported year, a 6.3% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate; the full report puts both brands' churn against other medians.
Litigation
Great Clips's Item 3 could not be read from its filing, so we make no claim either way. House of Color discloses no franchisee-initiated proceedings in FDD Item 3.
This page is the headline numbers. The Deep report compares up to three brands on the complete FDD record — every fee line, the actual Item 19 figures and what they represent, each lawsuit, and churn benchmarked against other peers.
Only looking at one of them?
Great Clips vs House of Color — frequently asked
Are Great Clips and House of Color the same company?
No — Great Clips and House of Color are franchised by separate companies. Great Clips's franchisor is GREAT CLIPS INC; House of Color's is House of Colour USA, Inc.. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
What is the difference between Great Clips and House of Color?
Great Clips and House of Color are other franchises from different franchisors (GREAT CLIPS INC and House of Colour USA, Inc.). Great Clips is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $14,000 – $46,000, against $27,845 – $57,700 for House of Color. Only Great Clips disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while House of Color's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Is Great Clips more profitable than House of Color?
Only Great Clips disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while House of Color's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Which is cheaper to open — Great Clips or House of Color?
Great Clips is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $14,000 – $46,000, against $27,845 – $57,700 for House of Color.
Is Great Clips or House of Color growing faster?
Great Clips reports 4,439 franchised outlets, net change +12 in the latest reported year, a 2.3% closure rate (FDD Item 20). House of Color reports 266 franchised outlets, net change +59 in the latest reported year, a 6.3% closure rate (FDD Item 20).
Go deeper on each brand
Other rankings
Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Great Clips 2025, House of Color 2025). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.