Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Carl's Jr. (Nt)

Carl's Jr. (Nt) franchise — is it worth it?

FDD-based assessment · registered 2025

High risk Shrinking network

What Carl's Jr. (Nt)'s most recent Franchise Disclosure Document says about the money, the litigation, and the franchisee churn — before you wire a five- or six-figure franchise fee.

Everything below is free, read straight off Carl's Jr. (Nt)'s registered filing, with where the numbers land against category peers. Weighing Carl's Jr. (Nt) against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$57,000 – $97,000
Top quartile for other · median $235,015
Initial franchise fee
$25,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
—
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
Disclosed
in Item 3
Outlet network
982 units
-32 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Carl's Jr. (Nt)'s most recent FDD (registered 2025). Source: Minnesota Dept. of Commerce — CARDS franchise registrations · filing 35314-202601-02 — check it yourself. See every other Minnesota-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Carl's Jr. (Nt)? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Carl's Jr. (Nt) will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Carl's Jr. (Nt) franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Carl's Jr. (Nt) does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Carl's Jr. (Nt) — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing; the fees, litigation and outlet churn Carl's Jr. (Nt)'s FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Other franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Carl's Jr. (Nt) lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Carl's Jr. (Nt)'s most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2025) does disclose legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Carl's Jr. (Nt) itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Carl's Jr. (Nt) closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Carl's Jr. (Nt) will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Carl's Jr. (Nt)'s most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a franchise of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Carl's Jr. (Nt)'s latest tables show a shrinking franchised network — more units left than opened. Net franchised outlets moved -32 to 982 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Carl's Jr. (Nt)?

Carl's Jr. (Nt)'s franchise is offered by Carl's Jr. Restaurants LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2025), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at MN CARDS; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it. The same franchisor files separate FDDs for other brands, which is worth knowing — sibling brands share a franchise-support organization but disclose their own numbers:

Carl's Jrsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rate

Franchises at a similar investment level at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Carl's Jr. (Nt) is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Card My Yard$10,350 – $18,550 · Item 19 disclosedComplete Weddings + Events$68,800 – $80,750 · Item 19 disclosedCookie Cutters$60,000 – $90,000USL, Pro$50,000 – $100,000Hardee's (Sla)$57,000 – $97,000 · Item 19 disclosedHerlife$55,000 – $100,000Kitchen Refresh$21,280 – $133,950 · Item 19 disclosedCool Vu Glass and Surface Solutions$58,450 – $96,850Yumberry Bowl$45,647 – $109,697Carstar$23,500 – $165,300 · Item 19 disclosedCarbone's Pizzeria andinvestment not disclosedCarre d'artistesinvestment not disclosed

Carl's Jr. (Nt) franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Carl's Jr. (Nt) — who is the franchisor?

Carl's Jr. (Nt)'s most recently filed FDD (2025) names Carl's Jr. Restaurants LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. The same franchisor also files FDDs for Carl's Jr. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Carl's Jr. (Nt) franchise cost?

Carl's Jr. (Nt)'s most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $57,000 – $97,000, with an initial franchise fee of $25,000. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against category peers it sits in the top quartile (median $235,015).

How much profit does a Carl's Jr. (Nt) franchise make?

Carl's Jr. (Nt) makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Carl's Jr. (Nt) at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Carl's Jr. (Nt) disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Carl's Jr. (Nt)'s most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing.

Are there lawsuits against Carl's Jr. (Nt)?

Carl's Jr. (Nt)'s most recently filed FDD (2025) discloses legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Carl's Jr. (Nt) itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is Carl's Jr. (Nt) a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Carl's Jr. (Nt)'s numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against category peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is high risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Carl's Jr. (Nt)?

Get a free email when something changes on Carl's Jr. (Nt) or this category: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.