Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → DQ® Treat

DQ® Treat franchise — is it worth it?

Food & beverage · FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

High risk Growing network

The DQ® Treat franchise is a food and beverage brand requiring an initial investment between $548,700 and $1,595,350.

Everything below is free, read straight off DQ® Treat's registered filing, with where the numbers land against food & beverage peers. Weighing DQ® Treat against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$548,700 – $1,595,350
Bottom quartile for food & beverage · median $379,725
Initial franchise fee
$3,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
—
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
13 cases
in Item 3
Closure rate
0.7%
food & beverage median 3.3%
Outlet network
745 units
+18 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in DQ® Treat's most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Financial Institutions — Franchise Registration · filing 640429 — check it yourself. See every other Wisconsin-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering DQ® Treat? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. DQ® Treat will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

DQ® Treat franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: DQ® Treat does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for DQ® Treat — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (42% of food & beverage franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn DQ® Treat's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Food & beverage franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

DQ® Treat lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

DQ® Treat's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026) does disclose 13 legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against DQ® Treat itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. 8 of those proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor — the split that actually matters, because franchisees suing their franchisor is the signal a buyer is looking for. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

DQ® Treat closures & failure rate

Before you sign, DQ® Treat will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what DQ® Treat's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a food & beverage of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. DQ® Treat's latest tables show a growing franchised network. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 0.7%, against a food & beverage median of 3.3% — at or better than the category. Net franchised outlets moved +18 to 745 in the latest reported year.

Who owns DQ® Treat?

DQ® Treat's franchise is offered by American Dairy Queen Corporation — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at WI DFI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it. The same franchisor files separate FDDs for other brands, which is worth knowing — sibling brands share a franchise-support organization but disclose their own numbers:

DQ Grill & Chillsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rate

Food & beverage franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing DQ® Treat is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Dumont Creamery and Café$147,500 – $291,000Lola Beans$835,450 – $1,233,550 · Item 19 disclosedLola Beans Unit$835,450 – $1,233,550PopUp Bagels$842,300 – $1,283,350Angelina Italian Bakery$439,800 – $1,732,500Abbott's Frozen Custard$439,600 – $1,778,000 · Item 19 disclosedOrigami$544,500 – $1,681,500The Brass Tap$535,350 – $1,738,675 · Item 19 disclosedThe Brass Tap$535,350 – $1,738,675 · Item 19 disclosedDogs & Creaminvestment not disclosedDot and Doughinvestment not disclosedDunn Brothers Coffeeinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosed

DQ® Treat franchise — frequently asked

Who owns DQ® Treat — who is the franchisor?

DQ® Treat's most recently filed FDD (2026) names American Dairy Queen Corporation as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. The same franchisor also files FDDs for DQ Grill & Chill. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a DQ® Treat franchise cost?

DQ® Treat's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $548,700 – $1,595,350, with an initial franchise fee of $3,000. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against food & beverage peers it sits in the bottom quartile (median $379,725).

How much profit does a DQ® Treat franchise make?

DQ® Treat makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for DQ® Treat at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does DQ® Treat disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — DQ® Treat's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 42% of food & beverage franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against DQ® Treat?

DQ® Treat's most recently filed FDD (2026) discloses 13 legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against DQ® Treat itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing. 8 of the disclosed proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor.

Is DQ® Treat a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from DQ® Treat's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against food & beverage peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is high risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching DQ® Treat?

Get a free email when something changes on DQ® Treat or food & beverage: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.