Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Jan-Pro

Jan-Pro franchise — is it worth it?

Cleaning & restoration · FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

Medium risk Growing network Item 19 disclosed

Jan-Pro is a cleaning and restoration franchise with a disclosed Item 19, indicating some financial transparency.

Everything below is free, read straight off Jan-Pro's registered filing. Weighing Jan-Pro against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
—
FDD Item 7
Initial franchise fee
$50,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
4%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Disclosed
figure not machine-read
Litigation (Item 3)
5 cases
in Item 3
Closure rate
0.9%
cleaning & restoration median 4%
Outlet network
108 units
+1 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Jan-Pro's most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Financial Institutions — Franchise Registration · filing 640223 — check it yourself. See every other Wisconsin-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Jan-Pro? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Jan-Pro will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

How much does a Jan-Pro franchise make?

Jan-Pro is one of the franchisors that answers this on the record: its most recent FDD makes an Item 19 financial performance representation — actual unit earnings figures, disclosed by the franchisor itself. The headline figure did not machine-read cleanly from this filing, so we don't print one; Item 19 of the source FDD has the tables. See every cleaning & restoration brand that discloses earnings in the Cleaning & restoration franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings ranking.

Jan-Pro franchise profit vs. revenue

Revenue is not profit. An Item 19 almost always reports sales — what a location takes in — not what an owner keeps. Out of that number come Jan-Pro's 4% royalty, the ad fund, rent, payroll, supplies and debt service. No FDD tells you a Jan-Pro franchise's profit, because profit depends on your site, your rent and how you run it — so treat any "Jan-Pro franchise profit" figure quoted elsewhere as someone's estimate, not a disclosure.

Jan-Pro lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Jan-Pro's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026) does disclose 5 legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Jan-Pro itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. 5 of those proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor — the split that actually matters, because franchisees suing their franchisor is the signal a buyer is looking for. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Jan-Pro closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Jan-Pro will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Jan-Pro's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a cleaning & restoration of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Jan-Pro's latest tables show a growing franchised network. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 0.9%, against a cleaning & restoration median of 4% — at or better than the category. Net franchised outlets moved +1 to 108 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Jan-Pro?

Jan-Pro's franchise is offered by Jan-Pro Franchising International, Inc. — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at WI DFI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Other cleaning & restoration franchises

Anyone weighing Jan-Pro is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Jan-Pro Cleaning Systems Central Coast$10,410 – $58,070Jan-Pro Cleaning & Disinfecting$3,433 – $66,770 · Item 19 disclosedImage One$49,900 – $72,049 · Item 19 disclosedAdvantaclean$116,880 – $197,400AdvantaClean$116,880 – $197,400Advanced Laser Restoration$163,250 – $283,0001-800 Water Damage$142,903 – $312,398 · Item 19 disclosed911 Restoration$167,700 – $334,000 · Item 19 disclosed1-800-Packouts$269,300 – $514,000 · Item 19 disclosediNX$3,161,591 – $15,329,532 · Item 19 disclosed1800 Textilesinvestment not disclosedAction Duct Cleaninginvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosed

Jan-Pro franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Jan-Pro — who is the franchisor?

Jan-Pro's most recently filed FDD (2026) names Jan-Pro Franchising International, Inc. as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Jan-Pro franchise cost?

Jan-Pro's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at a range disclosed in Item 7, with an initial franchise fee of $50,000 and a 4% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote.

How much profit does a Jan-Pro franchise make?

Jan-Pro discloses unit earnings in Item 19, but that figure is revenue — sales — not profit. Royalties (4% of gross for Jan-Pro), the ad fund, rent, payroll and supplies all come out of it, and no FDD discloses what an owner nets. Any Jan-Pro franchise profit number quoted elsewhere is an estimate.

Does Jan-Pro disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

Yes — Jan-Pro reports unit-level earnings in Item 19. The headline figure did not machine-read cleanly, so check Item 19 of the source FDD for the numbers.

Are there lawsuits against Jan-Pro?

Jan-Pro's most recently filed FDD (2026) discloses 5 legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Jan-Pro itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing. 5 of the disclosed proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor.

Is Jan-Pro a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Jan-Pro's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against cleaning & restoration peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Jan-Pro?

Get a free email when something changes on Jan-Pro or cleaning & restoration: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.