Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Jani-King

Jani-King franchise — is it worth it?

Cleaning & restoration · FDD-based assessment · registered 2025

Medium risk Shrinking network

JANI-KING is a cleaning and restoration franchise with a broad investment range.

Everything below is free, read straight off Jani-King's registered filing, with where the numbers land against cleaning & restoration peers. Weighing Jani-King against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$10,500 – $223,050
Below the cleaning & restoration median · median $180,063
Initial franchise fee
—
FDD Item 5
Royalty
10%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
Disclosed
in Item 3
Outlet network
4,859 units
-57 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Jani-King's most recent FDD (registered 2025). Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Financial Institutions — Franchise Registration · filing 639858 — check it yourself. See every other Wisconsin-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Jani-King? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Jani-King will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Jani-King franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Jani-King does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Jani-King — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (74% of cleaning & restoration franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Jani-King's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Cleaning & restoration franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Jani-King lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Jani-King's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2025) does disclose legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Jani-King itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Jani-King closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Jani-King will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Jani-King's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a cleaning & restoration of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Jani-King's latest tables show a shrinking franchised network — more units left than opened. Net franchised outlets moved -57 to 4,859 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Jani-King?

Jani-King's franchise is offered by FOCUS FRANCHISING, INC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2025), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at WI DFI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Cleaning & restoration franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Jani-King is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

KDO Capital$3,224 – $58,070Jan-Pro Sacramento$3,925 – $58,270 · Item 19 disclosedOffice Pride$71,000 – $139,500 · Item 19 disclosedAire-Master of America$46,234 – $171,400 · Item 19 disclosedThe Cleaning Authority$92,850 – $147,100 · Item 19 disclosedBin Blasters$83,050 – $158,900Corporate Cleaning Group$97,240 – $146,700 · Item 19 disclosedCleanest Restaurant Group$102,686 – $144,174The Maids$117,720 – $141,200 · Item 19 disclosedThe Perfect Clean (Unit)$105,172 – $157,972 · Item 19 disclosedLapels$113,065 – $796,742Jan-Pro of Milwaukeeinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosed

Jani-King franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Jani-King — who is the franchisor?

Jani-King's most recently filed FDD (2025) names FOCUS FRANCHISING, INC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Jani-King franchise cost?

Jani-King's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $10,500 – $223,050 and a 10% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against cleaning & restoration peers it sits in the upper quartile (median $180,063).

How much profit does a Jani-King franchise make?

Jani-King makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Jani-King at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Jani-King disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Jani-King's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 74% of cleaning & restoration franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Jani-King?

Jani-King's most recently filed FDD (2025) discloses legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Jani-King itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is Jani-King a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Jani-King's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against cleaning & restoration peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Jani-King?

Get a free email when something changes on Jani-King or cleaning & restoration: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.