Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → MOTW Coffee & Pastries

MOTW Coffee & Pastries franchise — is it worth it?

Food & beverage · FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

Medium risk

MOTW Coffee & Pastries operates in the food & beverage sector, offering an investment range of $340,790 to $578,180.

Everything below is free, read straight off MOTW Coffee & Pastries's registered filing, with where the numbers land against food & beverage peers. Weighing MOTW Coffee & Pastries against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$340,790 – $578,180
Above the food & beverage median · median $379,725
Initial franchise fee
—
FDD Item 5
Royalty
7.5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed

Figures above are as disclosed in MOTW Coffee & Pastries's most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Minnesota Dept. of Commerce — CARDS franchise registrations · filing 37199-202608-10 — check it yourself. See every other Minnesota-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering MOTW Coffee & Pastries? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. MOTW Coffee & Pastries will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

MOTW Coffee & Pastries franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: MOTW Coffee & Pastries does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for MOTW Coffee & Pastries — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (42% of food & beverage franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn MOTW Coffee & Pastries's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Food & beverage franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

MOTW Coffee & Pastries lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

MOTW Coffee & Pastries's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

MOTW Coffee & Pastries closures & failure rate

Before you sign, MOTW Coffee & Pastries will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what MOTW Coffee & Pastries's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a food & beverage of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. MOTW Coffee & Pastries's outlet tables did not machine-read cleanly; Item 20 of the source FDD has them.

Who owns MOTW Coffee & Pastries?

MOTW Coffee & Pastries's franchise is offered by MOTWCoffee & Pastries Franchising, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at MN CARDS; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Food & beverage franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing MOTW Coffee & Pastries is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Mountain Man Nut + Fruit Co.$15,360 – $16,100Monja Taiker$316,300 – $452,400Ben & Jerry's$280,300 – $631,300 · Item 19 disclosedBen & Jerry's Scoop Shop$280,300 – $631,300 · Item 19 disclosedMr. Charlie's Told Me So$244,765 – $667,100 · Item 19 disclosedSweet Reserve$274,000 – $639,000 · Item 19 disclosedWetzel's Pretzels$188,500 – $725,450 · Item 19 disclosedSidewalk Juice$255,000 – $660,000Bobae Global$335,500 – $583,500Schmack$266,650 – $656,500 · Item 19 disclosedMovita Juice Bar$412,500 – $530,000Molly Tea$527,500 – $1,108,000

MOTW Coffee & Pastries franchise — frequently asked

Who owns MOTW Coffee & Pastries — who is the franchisor?

MOTW Coffee & Pastries's most recently filed FDD (2026) names MOTWCoffee & Pastries Franchising, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a MOTW Coffee & Pastries franchise cost?

MOTW Coffee & Pastries's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $340,790 – $578,180 and a 7.5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against food & beverage peers it sits in the lower quartile (median $379,725).

How much profit does a MOTW Coffee & Pastries franchise make?

MOTW Coffee & Pastries makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for MOTW Coffee & Pastries at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does MOTW Coffee & Pastries disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — MOTW Coffee & Pastries's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 42% of food & beverage franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against MOTW Coffee & Pastries?

No — MOTW Coffee & Pastries's most recently filed FDD (2026) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is MOTW Coffee & Pastries a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from MOTW Coffee & Pastries's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against food & beverage peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching MOTW Coffee & Pastries?

Get a free email when something changes on MOTW Coffee & Pastries or food & beverage: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.