Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → OpenWorks

OpenWorks franchise — is it worth it?

FDD-based assessment · registered 2022

Medium risk Growing network

What OpenWorks's most recent Franchise Disclosure Document says about the money, the litigation, and the franchisee churn — before you wire a five- or six-figure franchise fee.

Everything below is free, read straight off OpenWorks's registered filing. Weighing OpenWorks against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
—
FDD Item 7
Initial franchise fee
$2,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
3%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
Disclosed
in Item 3
Closure rate
8.6%
FDD Item 20
Outlet network
730 units
+88 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in OpenWorks's most recent FDD (registered 2022). Source: Minnesota Dept. of Commerce — CARDS franchise registrations · filing 23563-202204-07 — check it yourself. See every other Minnesota-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering OpenWorks? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. OpenWorks will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

OpenWorks franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: OpenWorks does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for OpenWorks — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing; the fees, litigation and outlet churn OpenWorks's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Other franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

OpenWorks lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

OpenWorks's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2022) does disclose legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against OpenWorks itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

OpenWorks closures & failure rate

Before you sign, OpenWorks will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what OpenWorks's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a franchise of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. OpenWorks's latest tables show a growing franchised network. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 8.6%. Net franchised outlets moved +88 to 730 in the latest reported year.

Who owns OpenWorks?

OpenWorks's franchise is offered by O.P.E.N. America, Inc. — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2022), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at MN CARDS; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Other franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing OpenWorks is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

30 Minute Hit$15,000 – $75,000On the Border Mexican Grill & Catina$105,000 – $260,000 · Item 19 disclosed212 Contender eSports$195,980 – $406,030180 Water$186,111 – $712,6401-800-FLOWERS/1-800-FLOWERS.COM$258,500 – $932,500Ori'Zaba's Franchise Operations$413,195 – $854,6101-800-TEXTILES$358,200 – $939,000 · Item 19 disclosed2 Hours of Freedom$465,623 – $892,693 · Item 19 disclosed1-800-FLOWERSinvestment not disclosed1Heart Caregiver Servicesinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosedOMEXinvestment not disclosedOrtholazer Orthopedic Laser Centerinvestment not disclosed

OpenWorks franchise — frequently asked

Who owns OpenWorks — who is the franchisor?

OpenWorks's most recently filed FDD (2022) names O.P.E.N. America, Inc. as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a OpenWorks franchise cost?

OpenWorks's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at a range disclosed in Item 7, with an initial franchise fee of $2,000 and a 3% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote.

How much profit does a OpenWorks franchise make?

OpenWorks makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for OpenWorks at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does OpenWorks disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — OpenWorks's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing.

Are there lawsuits against OpenWorks?

OpenWorks's most recently filed FDD (2022) discloses legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against OpenWorks itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is OpenWorks a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from OpenWorks's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against category peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching OpenWorks?

Get a free email when something changes on OpenWorks or this category: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.