Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe

The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe franchise — is it worth it?

Health & wellness · FDD-based assessment · registered 2025

High risk Shrinking network

The Medicine Shoppe operates in the health & wellness sector, offering a franchise opportunity with an investment range of $130,000 to $513,050.

Everything below is free, read straight off The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe's registered filing, with where the numbers land against health & wellness peers. Weighing The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$130,000 – $513,050
Below the health & wellness median · median $393,675
Initial franchise fee
—
FDD Item 5
Royalty
3%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
8 cases
in Item 3
Closure rate
3.1%
health & wellness median 2.5%
Outlet network
271 units
-21 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe's most recent FDD (registered 2025). Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Financial Institutions — Franchise Registration · filing 639738 — check it yourself. See every other Wisconsin-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (57% of health & wellness franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Health & wellness franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2025) does disclose 8 legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. 4 of those proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor — the split that actually matters, because franchisees suing their franchisor is the signal a buyer is looking for. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe closures & failure rate

Before you sign, The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a health & wellness of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe's latest tables show a shrinking franchised network — more units left than opened. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 3.1%, against a health & wellness median of 2.5% — worse than the category. Net franchised outlets moved -21 to 271 in the latest reported year.

Who owns The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe?

The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe's franchise is offered by MEDICINE SHOPPE INTERNATIONAL, INC. — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2025), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at WI DFI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it. The same franchisor files separate FDDs for other brands, which is worth knowing — sibling brands share a franchise-support organization but disclose their own numbers:

The Medicine Shoppe or Medicine Shoppesame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rate

Health & wellness franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

The Source Chiropractic Franchise, PC$82,079 – $136,979 · Item 19 disclosedThe Array Group$139,000 – $389,000 · Item 19 disclosedFyzical$125,392 – $481,536 · Item 19 disclosedCompetitive Edge Physical Therapy$244,125 – $376,925 · Item 19 disclosedGlow Sauna Studios$224,100 – $398,750 · Item 19 disclosedHear Again America$257,100 – $388,450 · Item 19 disclosedGameday Men's Health$225,475 – $421,396MD Hyperbaric$133,050 – $521,700 · Item 19 disclosedMedicap Pharmacy$138,100 – $521,150Live Hydration Spa Franchise LLC (Area)$136,225 – $534,700The Salt Suiteinvestment not disclosed

The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe franchise — frequently asked

Who owns The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe — who is the franchisor?

The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe's most recently filed FDD (2025) names MEDICINE SHOPPE INTERNATIONAL, INC. as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. The same franchisor also files FDDs for The Medicine Shoppe or Medicine Shoppe. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe franchise cost?

The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $130,000 – $513,050 and a 3% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against health & wellness peers it sits in the upper quartile (median $393,675).

How much profit does a The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe franchise make?

The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 57% of health & wellness franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe?

The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe's most recently filed FDD (2025) discloses 8 legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing. 4 of the disclosed proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor.

Is The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against health & wellness peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is high risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe?

Get a free email when something changes on The Medicine Shoppe, Medicine Shoppe or health & wellness: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.