Franchise Facts Report → compare → Anytime Fitness; vs Gracie Barra
Anytime Fitness; vs Gracie Barra
Two other franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.
| Anytime Fitness; | Gracie Barra | |
|---|---|---|
| Total initial investment FDD Item 7 | $397,516 – $973,121 | $70,500 – $223,500 |
| Initial franchise fee FDD Item 5 | $42,500 | $10,000 |
| Royalty FDD Item 6 | — | 8% |
| Item 19 earnings disclosed FDD Item 19 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Avg unit revenue (headline) FDD Item 19 | — | — |
| Franchised outlets FDD Item 20 | 2,298 | 305 |
| Net outlet change (latest yr) FDD Item 20 | -20 | +32 |
| Closure rate FDD Item 20 | 1.8% | 1.1% |
| Franchisee lawsuits FDD Item 3 | disclosed | 0 |
| Risk level our read | Medium | Medium |
| FDD year registration | 2024 | 2024 |
Are Anytime Fitness; and Gracie Barra the same company?
No — Anytime Fitness; and Gracie Barra are franchised by separate companies. Anytime Fitness;'s franchisor is ANYTIME FITNESS FRANCHISOR LLC; Gracie Barra's is Gracie Barra Franchise Systems Inc.. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
Cost to open
Gracie Barra is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $70,500 – $223,500, against $397,516 – $973,121 for Anytime Fitness;.
How much does each make? (Item 19)
Neither Anytime Fitness; nor Gracie Barra makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.
Closures & failure rate
Anytime Fitness; reports 2,298 franchised outlets, net change -20 in the latest reported year, a 1.8% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Gracie Barra reports 305 franchised outlets, net change +32 in the latest reported year, a 1.1% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate; the full report puts both brands' churn against other medians.
Litigation
Anytime Fitness; discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (case detail in the full report). Gracie Barra discloses no franchisee-initiated proceedings in FDD Item 3.
This page is the headline numbers. The Deep report compares up to three brands on the complete FDD record — every fee line, the actual Item 19 figures and what they represent, each lawsuit, and churn benchmarked against other peers.
Only looking at one of them?
Anytime Fitness; vs Gracie Barra — frequently asked
Are Anytime Fitness; and Gracie Barra the same company?
No — Anytime Fitness; and Gracie Barra are franchised by separate companies. Anytime Fitness;'s franchisor is ANYTIME FITNESS FRANCHISOR LLC; Gracie Barra's is Gracie Barra Franchise Systems Inc.. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
What is the difference between Anytime Fitness; and Gracie Barra?
Anytime Fitness; and Gracie Barra are other franchises from different franchisors (ANYTIME FITNESS FRANCHISOR LLC and Gracie Barra Franchise Systems Inc.). Gracie Barra is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $70,500 – $223,500, against $397,516 – $973,121 for Anytime Fitness;. Neither Anytime Fitness; nor Gracie Barra makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.
Is Anytime Fitness; more profitable than Gracie Barra?
Neither Anytime Fitness; nor Gracie Barra makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.
Which is cheaper to open — Anytime Fitness; or Gracie Barra?
Gracie Barra is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $70,500 – $223,500, against $397,516 – $973,121 for Anytime Fitness;.
Is Anytime Fitness; or Gracie Barra growing faster?
Anytime Fitness; reports 2,298 franchised outlets, net change -20 in the latest reported year, a 1.8% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Gracie Barra reports 305 franchised outlets, net change +32 in the latest reported year, a 1.1% closure rate (FDD Item 20).
Go deeper on each brand
Other rankings
Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Anytime Fitness; 2024, Gracie Barra 2024). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.