Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Reportcompare → Anytime Fitness; vs Hotworx

Anytime Fitness; vs Hotworx

Other · head-to-head from each brand's most recent FDD

Two other franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.

Anytime Fitness;Hotworx
Total initial investment
FDD Item 7
$397,516 – $973,121 $121,510 – $194,000
Initial franchise fee
FDD Item 5
$42,500 $2,500
Royalty
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings disclosed
FDD Item 19
Not disclosed Yes
Avg unit revenue (headline)
FDD Item 19
in report
Franchised outlets
FDD Item 20
2,298 797
Net outlet change (latest yr)
FDD Item 20
-20 +85
Closure rate
FDD Item 20
1.8% 0.1%
Franchisee lawsuits
FDD Item 3
disclosed disclosed
Risk level
our read
Medium Medium
FDD year
registration
2024 2025

Are Anytime Fitness; and Hotworx the same company?

No — Anytime Fitness; and Hotworx are franchised by separate companies. Anytime Fitness;'s franchisor is ANYTIME FITNESS FRANCHISOR LLC; Hotworx's is HOTWORX FRANCHISING, LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.

Cost to open

Hotworx is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $121,510 – $194,000, against $397,516 – $973,121 for Anytime Fitness;.

How much does each make? (Item 19)

Only Hotworx disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Anytime Fitness;'s most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.

Closures & failure rate

Anytime Fitness; reports 2,298 franchised outlets, net change -20 in the latest reported year, a 1.8% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Hotworx reports 797 franchised outlets, net change +85 in the latest reported year, a 0.1% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate; the full report puts both brands' churn against other medians.

Litigation

Anytime Fitness; discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (case detail in the full report). Hotworx discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (case detail in the full report).

The full side-by-side — $249

This page is the headline numbers. The Deep report compares up to three brands on the complete FDD record — every fee line, the actual Item 19 figures and what they represent, each lawsuit, and churn benchmarked against other peers.

How the report works

Only looking at one of them?

Anytime Fitness; vs Hotworx — frequently asked

Are Anytime Fitness; and Hotworx the same company?

No — Anytime Fitness; and Hotworx are franchised by separate companies. Anytime Fitness;'s franchisor is ANYTIME FITNESS FRANCHISOR LLC; Hotworx's is HOTWORX FRANCHISING, LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.

What is the difference between Anytime Fitness; and Hotworx?

Anytime Fitness; and Hotworx are other franchises from different franchisors (ANYTIME FITNESS FRANCHISOR LLC and HOTWORX FRANCHISING, LLC). Hotworx is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $121,510 – $194,000, against $397,516 – $973,121 for Anytime Fitness;. Only Hotworx disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Anytime Fitness;'s most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.

Is Anytime Fitness; more profitable than Hotworx?

Only Hotworx disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Anytime Fitness;'s most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.

Which is cheaper to open — Anytime Fitness; or Hotworx?

Hotworx is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $121,510 – $194,000, against $397,516 – $973,121 for Anytime Fitness;.

Is Anytime Fitness; or Hotworx growing faster?

Anytime Fitness; reports 2,298 franchised outlets, net change -20 in the latest reported year, a 1.8% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Hotworx reports 797 franchised outlets, net change +85 in the latest reported year, a 0.1% closure rate (FDD Item 20).

Go deeper on each brand

Anytime Fitness; franchise facts$397,516 – $973,121 · medium risk Hotworx franchise facts$121,510 – $194,000 · medium risk

Other rankings

Cheapest Other franchises to openFastest-growing Other franchisesLowest-churn Other franchisesLowest-royalty Other franchisesOther franchises ranked by average revenueOther franchises with disclosed Item 19 earningsOther franchises with the most franchisee lawsuits

Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Anytime Fitness; 2024, Hotworx 2025). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.