Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Reportcompare → Domino's Pizza vs Sbarro

Domino's Pizza vs Sbarro

Other · head-to-head from each brand's most recent FDD

Two other franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.

Domino's PizzaSbarro
Total initial investment
FDD Item 7
$25,000 – $75,000 $211,900 – $931,000
Initial franchise fee
FDD Item 5
$30,000
Royalty
FDD Item 6
5.5% 5%
Item 19 earnings disclosed
FDD Item 19
Not disclosed Not disclosed
Avg unit revenue (headline)
FDD Item 19
Franchised outlets
FDD Item 20
6,600 222
Net outlet change (latest yr)
FDD Item 20
+162 +25
Closure rate
FDD Item 20
Franchisee lawsuits
FDD Item 3
disclosed
Risk level
our read
Medium Medium
FDD year
registration
2024 2024

Are Domino's Pizza and Sbarro the same company?

No — Domino's Pizza and Sbarro are franchised by separate companies. Domino's Pizza's franchisor is DOMINO'S PIZZA FRANCHISING LLC; Sbarro's is SBARRO FRANCHISE CO., LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.

Cost to open

Domino's Pizza is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $25,000 – $75,000, against $211,900 – $931,000 for Sbarro.

How much does each make? (Item 19)

Neither Domino's Pizza nor Sbarro makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.

Closures & failure rate

Domino's Pizza reports 6,600 franchised outlets, net change +162 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). Sbarro reports 222 franchised outlets, net change +25 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate; the full report puts both brands' churn against other medians.

Litigation

Domino's Pizza discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (case detail in the full report). Sbarro's Item 3 could not be read from its filing, so we make no claim either way.

The full side-by-side — $249

This page is the headline numbers. The Deep report compares up to three brands on the complete FDD record — every fee line, the actual Item 19 figures and what they represent, each lawsuit, and churn benchmarked against other peers.

How the report works

Only looking at one of them?

Domino's Pizza vs Sbarro — frequently asked

Are Domino's Pizza and Sbarro the same company?

No — Domino's Pizza and Sbarro are franchised by separate companies. Domino's Pizza's franchisor is DOMINO'S PIZZA FRANCHISING LLC; Sbarro's is SBARRO FRANCHISE CO., LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.

What is the difference between Domino's Pizza and Sbarro?

Domino's Pizza and Sbarro are other franchises from different franchisors (DOMINO'S PIZZA FRANCHISING LLC and SBARRO FRANCHISE CO., LLC). Domino's Pizza is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $25,000 – $75,000, against $211,900 – $931,000 for Sbarro. Neither Domino's Pizza nor Sbarro makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.

Is Domino's Pizza more profitable than Sbarro?

Neither Domino's Pizza nor Sbarro makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.

Which is cheaper to open — Domino's Pizza or Sbarro?

Domino's Pizza is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $25,000 – $75,000, against $211,900 – $931,000 for Sbarro.

Is Domino's Pizza or Sbarro growing faster?

Domino's Pizza reports 6,600 franchised outlets, net change +162 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). Sbarro reports 222 franchised outlets, net change +25 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20).

Go deeper on each brand

Domino's Pizza franchise facts$25,000 – $75,000 · medium risk Sbarro franchise facts$211,900 – $931,000 · medium risk

Other rankings

Cheapest Other franchises to openFastest-growing Other franchisesLowest-churn Other franchisesLowest-royalty Other franchisesOther franchises ranked by average revenueOther franchises with disclosed Item 19 earningsOther franchises with the most franchisee lawsuits

Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Domino's Pizza 2024, Sbarro 2024). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.