Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Reportcompare → Great Clips vs DaVi Nails

Great Clips vs DaVi Nails

Other · head-to-head from each brand's most recent FDD

Two other franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.

Great ClipsDaVi Nails
Total initial investment
FDD Item 7
$14,000 – $46,000 $68,300 – $177,000
Initial franchise fee
FDD Item 5
$35,000 $61,150
Royalty
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings disclosed
FDD Item 19
Yes Not disclosed
Avg unit revenue (headline)
FDD Item 19
in report
Franchised outlets
FDD Item 20
4,439 401
Net outlet change (latest yr)
FDD Item 20
+12 +2
Closure rate
FDD Item 20
2.3%
Franchisee lawsuits
FDD Item 3
disclosed
Risk level
our read
Medium Medium
FDD year
registration
2025 2025

Are Great Clips and DaVi Nails the same company?

No — Great Clips and DaVi Nails are franchised by separate companies. Great Clips's franchisor is GREAT CLIPS INC; DaVi Nails's is DaVi Nails Salon and Spa, LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.

Cost to open

Great Clips is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $14,000 – $46,000, against $68,300 – $177,000 for DaVi Nails.

How much does each make? (Item 19)

Only Great Clips disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while DaVi Nails's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.

Closures & failure rate

Great Clips reports 4,439 franchised outlets, net change +12 in the latest reported year, a 2.3% closure rate (FDD Item 20). DaVi Nails reports 401 franchised outlets, net change +2 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate; the full report puts both brands' churn against other medians.

Litigation

Great Clips's Item 3 could not be read from its filing, so we make no claim either way. DaVi Nails discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (case detail in the full report).

The full side-by-side — $249

This page is the headline numbers. The Deep report compares up to three brands on the complete FDD record — every fee line, the actual Item 19 figures and what they represent, each lawsuit, and churn benchmarked against other peers.

How the report works

Only looking at one of them?

Great Clips vs DaVi Nails — frequently asked

Are Great Clips and DaVi Nails the same company?

No — Great Clips and DaVi Nails are franchised by separate companies. Great Clips's franchisor is GREAT CLIPS INC; DaVi Nails's is DaVi Nails Salon and Spa, LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.

What is the difference between Great Clips and DaVi Nails?

Great Clips and DaVi Nails are other franchises from different franchisors (GREAT CLIPS INC and DaVi Nails Salon and Spa, LLC). Great Clips is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $14,000 – $46,000, against $68,300 – $177,000 for DaVi Nails. Only Great Clips disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while DaVi Nails's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.

Is Great Clips more profitable than DaVi Nails?

Only Great Clips disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while DaVi Nails's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.

Which is cheaper to open — Great Clips or DaVi Nails?

Great Clips is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $14,000 – $46,000, against $68,300 – $177,000 for DaVi Nails.

Is Great Clips or DaVi Nails growing faster?

Great Clips reports 4,439 franchised outlets, net change +12 in the latest reported year, a 2.3% closure rate (FDD Item 20). DaVi Nails reports 401 franchised outlets, net change +2 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20).

Go deeper on each brand

Great Clips franchise facts$14,000 – $46,000 · medium risk DaVi Nails franchise facts$68,300 – $177,000 · medium risk

Other rankings

Cheapest Other franchises to openFastest-growing Other franchisesLowest-churn Other franchisesLowest-royalty Other franchisesOther franchises ranked by average revenueOther franchises with disclosed Item 19 earningsOther franchises with the most franchisee lawsuits

Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Great Clips 2025, DaVi Nails 2025). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.