Franchise Facts Report → compare → Image Studios vs Hammer & Nails (Unit)
Image Studios vs Hammer & Nails (Unit)
Two other franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.
| Image Studios | Hammer & Nails (Unit) | |
|---|---|---|
| Total initial investment FDD Item 7 | — | $425,205 – $686,200 |
| Initial franchise fee FDD Item 5 | $64,500 | $49,950 |
| Royalty FDD Item 6 | — | 6% |
| Item 19 earnings disclosed FDD Item 19 | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Avg unit revenue (headline) FDD Item 19 | — | in report |
| Franchised outlets FDD Item 20 | 68 | 21 |
| Net outlet change (latest yr) FDD Item 20 | +31 | +6 |
| Closure rate FDD Item 20 | — | 0% |
| Franchisee lawsuits FDD Item 3 | 0 | 0 |
| Risk level our read | Medium | Low |
| FDD year registration | 2024 | 2023 |
Are Image Studios and Hammer & Nails (Unit) the same company?
No — Image Studios and Hammer & Nails (Unit) are franchised by separate companies. Image Studios's franchisor is Image Studios Franchise, LLC; Hammer & Nails (Unit)'s is The Hammer & Nails Salon Group, LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
Cost to open
Both brands disclose their total initial investment in FDD Item 7: see FDD for Image Studios, $425,205 – $686,200 for Hammer & Nails (Unit).
How much does each make? (Item 19)
Only Hammer & Nails (Unit) disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Image Studios's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Closures & failure rate
Image Studios reports 68 franchised outlets, net change +31 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). Hammer & Nails (Unit) reports 21 franchised outlets, net change +6 in the latest reported year, a 0% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate; the full report puts both brands' churn against other medians.
Litigation
Image Studios discloses no franchisee-initiated proceedings in FDD Item 3. Hammer & Nails (Unit) discloses no franchisee-initiated proceedings in FDD Item 3.
This page is the headline numbers. The Deep report compares up to three brands on the complete FDD record — every fee line, the actual Item 19 figures and what they represent, each lawsuit, and churn benchmarked against other peers.
Only looking at one of them?
Image Studios vs Hammer & Nails (Unit) — frequently asked
Are Image Studios and Hammer & Nails (Unit) the same company?
No — Image Studios and Hammer & Nails (Unit) are franchised by separate companies. Image Studios's franchisor is Image Studios Franchise, LLC; Hammer & Nails (Unit)'s is The Hammer & Nails Salon Group, LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
What is the difference between Image Studios and Hammer & Nails (Unit)?
Image Studios and Hammer & Nails (Unit) are other franchises from different franchisors (Image Studios Franchise, LLC and The Hammer & Nails Salon Group, LLC). Both brands disclose their total initial investment in FDD Item 7: see FDD for Image Studios, $425,205 – $686,200 for Hammer & Nails (Unit). Only Hammer & Nails (Unit) disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Image Studios's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Is Image Studios more profitable than Hammer & Nails (Unit)?
Only Hammer & Nails (Unit) disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Image Studios's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Which is cheaper to open — Image Studios or Hammer & Nails (Unit)?
Both brands disclose their total initial investment in FDD Item 7: see FDD for Image Studios, $425,205 – $686,200 for Hammer & Nails (Unit).
Is Image Studios or Hammer & Nails (Unit) growing faster?
Image Studios reports 68 franchised outlets, net change +31 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). Hammer & Nails (Unit) reports 21 franchised outlets, net change +6 in the latest reported year, a 0% closure rate (FDD Item 20).
Go deeper on each brand
Other rankings
Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Image Studios 2024, Hammer & Nails (Unit) 2023). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.