Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Reportcompare → Jack in the Box vs Marco's Pizza and Marcos

Jack in the Box vs Marco's Pizza and Marcos

Quick-service restaurant · head-to-head from each brand's most recent FDD

Two quick-service restaurant franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.

Jack in the BoxMarco's Pizza and Marcos
Total initial investment
FDD Item 7
$3,820,000 – $8,088,000 $285,631 – $804,856
Initial franchise fee
FDD Item 5
$50,000 $5,000
Royalty
FDD Item 6
5% 5.5%
Item 19 earnings disclosed
FDD Item 19
Yes Not disclosed
Avg unit revenue (headline)
FDD Item 19
$1,986,186
Franchised outlets
FDD Item 20
0 1,076
Net outlet change (latest yr)
FDD Item 20
-173 +54
Closure rate
FDD Item 20
2.6%
Franchisee lawsuits
FDD Item 3
disclosed disclosed
Risk level
our read
Medium Medium
FDD year
registration
2026 2024

Are Jack in the Box and Marco's Pizza and Marcos the same company?

No — Jack in the Box and Marco's Pizza and Marcos are franchised by separate companies. Jack in the Box's franchisor is DIFFERENT RULES, LLC; Marco's Pizza and Marcos's is MARCO'S FRANCHISING LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.

Cost to open

Marco's Pizza and Marcos is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $285,631 – $804,856, against $3,820,000 – $8,088,000 for Jack in the Box.

How much does each make? (Item 19)

Only Jack in the Box disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation (headline average unit revenue $1,986,186), while Marco's Pizza and Marcos's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.

Closures & failure rate

Jack in the Box reports 0 franchised outlets, net change -173 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). Marco's Pizza and Marcos reports 1,076 franchised outlets, net change +54 in the latest reported year, a 2.6% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate; the full report puts both brands' churn against quick-service restaurant medians.

Litigation

Jack in the Box discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (case detail in the full report). Marco's Pizza and Marcos discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (case detail in the full report).

The full side-by-side — $249

This page is the headline numbers. The Deep report compares up to three brands on the complete FDD record — every fee line, the actual Item 19 figures and what they represent, each lawsuit, and churn benchmarked against quick-service restaurant peers.

How the report works

Only looking at one of them?

Jack in the Box vs Marco's Pizza and Marcos — frequently asked

Are Jack in the Box and Marco's Pizza and Marcos the same company?

No — Jack in the Box and Marco's Pizza and Marcos are franchised by separate companies. Jack in the Box's franchisor is DIFFERENT RULES, LLC; Marco's Pizza and Marcos's is MARCO'S FRANCHISING LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.

What is the difference between Jack in the Box and Marco's Pizza and Marcos?

Jack in the Box and Marco's Pizza and Marcos are quick-service restaurant franchises from different franchisors (DIFFERENT RULES, LLC and MARCO'S FRANCHISING LLC). Marco's Pizza and Marcos is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $285,631 – $804,856, against $3,820,000 – $8,088,000 for Jack in the Box. Only Jack in the Box disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation (headline average unit revenue $1,986,186), while Marco's Pizza and Marcos's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.

Is Jack in the Box more profitable than Marco's Pizza and Marcos?

Only Jack in the Box disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation (headline average unit revenue $1,986,186), while Marco's Pizza and Marcos's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.

Which is cheaper to open — Jack in the Box or Marco's Pizza and Marcos?

Marco's Pizza and Marcos is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $285,631 – $804,856, against $3,820,000 – $8,088,000 for Jack in the Box.

Is Jack in the Box or Marco's Pizza and Marcos growing faster?

Jack in the Box reports 0 franchised outlets, net change -173 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). Marco's Pizza and Marcos reports 1,076 franchised outlets, net change +54 in the latest reported year, a 2.6% closure rate (FDD Item 20).

Go deeper on each brand

Jack in the Box franchise facts$3,820,000 – $8,088,000 · medium risk Marco's Pizza and Marcos franchise facts$285,631 – $804,856 · medium risk

Quick-service restaurant rankings

Best fast food & quick-service restaurant franchises by the FDD numbersCheapest fast food & quick-service restaurant franchises to openFast food & quick-service restaurant franchises ranked by average revenueFast food & quick-service restaurant franchises with disclosed Item 19 earningsFast food & quick-service restaurant franchises with the most franchisee lawsuitsFastest-growing fast food & quick-service restaurant franchisesLowest-churn fast food & quick-service restaurant franchisesLowest-royalty fast food & quick-service restaurant franchises

Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Jack in the Box 2026, Marco's Pizza and Marcos 2024). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.