Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Reportcompare → Marco's Pizza and Marcos vs Chester's

Marco's Pizza and Marcos vs Chester's

Other · head-to-head from each brand's most recent FDD

Two other franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.

Marco's Pizza and MarcosChester's
Total initial investment
FDD Item 7
$285,631 – $804,856 $27,500 – $296,500
Initial franchise fee
FDD Item 5
$5,000 $3,500
Royalty
FDD Item 6
5.5%
Item 19 earnings disclosed
FDD Item 19
Not disclosed Not disclosed
Avg unit revenue (headline)
FDD Item 19
Franchised outlets
FDD Item 20
1,076 1,002
Net outlet change (latest yr)
FDD Item 20
+54 -79
Closure rate
FDD Item 20
2.6% 7.4%
Franchisee lawsuits
FDD Item 3
disclosed 0
Risk level
our read
Medium Medium
FDD year
registration
2024 2024

Are Marco's Pizza and Marcos and Chester's the same company?

No — Marco's Pizza and Marcos and Chester's are franchised by separate companies. Marco's Pizza and Marcos's franchisor is MARCO'S FRANCHISING LLC; Chester's's is Chester's International, LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.

Cost to open

Chester's is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $27,500 – $296,500, against $285,631 – $804,856 for Marco's Pizza and Marcos.

How much does each make? (Item 19)

Neither Marco's Pizza and Marcos nor Chester's makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.

Closures & failure rate

Marco's Pizza and Marcos reports 1,076 franchised outlets, net change +54 in the latest reported year, a 2.6% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Chester's reports 1,002 franchised outlets, net change -79 in the latest reported year, a 7.4% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate; the full report puts both brands' churn against other medians.

Litigation

Marco's Pizza and Marcos discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (case detail in the full report). Chester's discloses no franchisee-initiated proceedings in FDD Item 3.

The full side-by-side — $249

This page is the headline numbers. The Deep report compares up to three brands on the complete FDD record — every fee line, the actual Item 19 figures and what they represent, each lawsuit, and churn benchmarked against other peers.

How the report works

Only looking at one of them?

Marco's Pizza and Marcos vs Chester's — frequently asked

Are Marco's Pizza and Marcos and Chester's the same company?

No — Marco's Pizza and Marcos and Chester's are franchised by separate companies. Marco's Pizza and Marcos's franchisor is MARCO'S FRANCHISING LLC; Chester's's is Chester's International, LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.

What is the difference between Marco's Pizza and Marcos and Chester's?

Marco's Pizza and Marcos and Chester's are other franchises from different franchisors (MARCO'S FRANCHISING LLC and Chester's International, LLC). Chester's is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $27,500 – $296,500, against $285,631 – $804,856 for Marco's Pizza and Marcos. Neither Marco's Pizza and Marcos nor Chester's makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.

Is Marco's Pizza and Marcos more profitable than Chester's?

Neither Marco's Pizza and Marcos nor Chester's makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.

Which is cheaper to open — Marco's Pizza and Marcos or Chester's?

Chester's is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $27,500 – $296,500, against $285,631 – $804,856 for Marco's Pizza and Marcos.

Is Marco's Pizza and Marcos or Chester's growing faster?

Marco's Pizza and Marcos reports 1,076 franchised outlets, net change +54 in the latest reported year, a 2.6% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Chester's reports 1,002 franchised outlets, net change -79 in the latest reported year, a 7.4% closure rate (FDD Item 20).

Go deeper on each brand

Marco's Pizza and Marcos franchise facts$285,631 – $804,856 · medium risk Chester's franchise facts$27,500 – $296,500 · medium risk

Other rankings

Cheapest Other franchises to openFastest-growing Other franchisesLowest-churn Other franchisesLowest-royalty Other franchisesOther franchises ranked by average revenueOther franchises with disclosed Item 19 earningsOther franchises with the most franchisee lawsuits

Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Marco's Pizza and Marcos 2024, Chester's 2024). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.