Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Reportcompare → Motel 6 vs Studio 6

Motel 6 vs Studio 6

Other · head-to-head from each brand's most recent FDD

Two other franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.

Motel 6Studio 6
Total initial investment
FDD Item 7
$195,259 – $1,470,540 $197,107 – $1,892,930
Initial franchise fee
FDD Item 5
Royalty
FDD Item 6
5% 5%
Item 19 earnings disclosed
FDD Item 19
Not disclosed Not disclosed
Avg unit revenue (headline)
FDD Item 19
Franchised outlets
FDD Item 20
1,206 199
Net outlet change (latest yr)
FDD Item 20
-1 +23
Closure rate
FDD Item 20
3.4% 4.5%
Franchisee lawsuits
FDD Item 3
disclosed disclosed
Risk level
our read
Medium Medium
FDD year
registration
2024 2024

Are Motel 6 and Studio 6 the same company?

Yes — for franchising purposes they are the same company. G6 HOSPITALITY FRANCHISING LLC is named as the franchisor on the most recent FDD for both Motel 6 and Studio 6, so you would sign your franchise agreement with the same entity either way. They remain two separate offerings with their own investment ranges, fees and outlet counts — those differences are in the table above.

Cost to open

Motel 6 is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $195,259 – $1,470,540, against $197,107 – $1,892,930 for Studio 6.

How much does each make? (Item 19)

Neither Motel 6 nor Studio 6 makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.

Closures & failure rate

Motel 6 reports 1,206 franchised outlets, net change -1 in the latest reported year, a 3.4% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Studio 6 reports 199 franchised outlets, net change +23 in the latest reported year, a 4.5% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate; the full report puts both brands' churn against other medians.

Litigation

Motel 6 discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (case detail in the full report). Studio 6 discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (case detail in the full report).

The full side-by-side — $249

This page is the headline numbers. The Deep report compares up to three brands on the complete FDD record — every fee line, the actual Item 19 figures and what they represent, each lawsuit, and churn benchmarked against other peers.

How the report works

Only looking at one of them?

Motel 6 vs Studio 6 — frequently asked

Are Motel 6 and Studio 6 the same company?

Yes — for franchising purposes they are the same company. G6 HOSPITALITY FRANCHISING LLC is named as the franchisor on the most recent FDD for both Motel 6 and Studio 6, so you would sign your franchise agreement with the same entity either way. They remain two separate offerings with their own investment ranges, fees and outlet counts — those differences are in the table above.

What is the difference between Motel 6 and Studio 6?

Motel 6 and Studio 6 are two offerings from one franchisor, G6 HOSPITALITY FRANCHISING LLC. Motel 6 is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $195,259 – $1,470,540, against $197,107 – $1,892,930 for Studio 6. Neither Motel 6 nor Studio 6 makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.

Is Motel 6 more profitable than Studio 6?

Neither Motel 6 nor Studio 6 makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.

Which is cheaper to open — Motel 6 or Studio 6?

Motel 6 is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $195,259 – $1,470,540, against $197,107 – $1,892,930 for Studio 6.

Is Motel 6 or Studio 6 growing faster?

Motel 6 reports 1,206 franchised outlets, net change -1 in the latest reported year, a 3.4% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Studio 6 reports 199 franchised outlets, net change +23 in the latest reported year, a 4.5% closure rate (FDD Item 20).

Go deeper on each brand

Motel 6 franchise facts$195,259 – $1,470,540 · medium risk Studio 6 franchise facts$197,107 – $1,892,930 · medium risk

Other rankings

Cheapest Other franchises to openFastest-growing Other franchisesLowest-churn Other franchisesLowest-royalty Other franchisesOther franchises ranked by average revenueOther franchises with disclosed Item 19 earningsOther franchises with the most franchisee lawsuits

Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Motel 6 2024, Studio 6 2024). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.