Franchise Facts Report → compare → Pop-A-Lock vs America's Swimming Pool Company
Pop-A-Lock vs America's Swimming Pool Company
Two other franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.
| Pop-A-Lock | America's Swimming Pool Company | |
|---|---|---|
| Total initial investment FDD Item 7 | $169,565 – $227,610 | $41,048 – $125,121 |
| Initial franchise fee FDD Item 5 | $75,000 | $40,000 |
| Royalty FDD Item 6 | 7% | 7% |
| Item 19 earnings disclosed FDD Item 19 | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Avg unit revenue (headline) FDD Item 19 | — | in report |
| Franchised outlets FDD Item 20 | 397 | 391 |
| Net outlet change (latest yr) FDD Item 20 | -12 | +16 |
| Closure rate FDD Item 20 | 2.7% | 6.4% |
| Franchisee lawsuits FDD Item 3 | disclosed | disclosed |
| Risk level our read | Medium | Low |
| FDD year registration | 2024 | 2024 |
Are Pop-A-Lock and America's Swimming Pool Company the same company?
No — Pop-A-Lock and America's Swimming Pool Company are franchised by separate companies. Pop-A-Lock's franchisor is SystemForward America, LLC; America's Swimming Pool Company's is ASP FRANCHISING SPE LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
Cost to open
America's Swimming Pool Company is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $41,048 – $125,121, against $169,565 – $227,610 for Pop-A-Lock.
How much does each make? (Item 19)
Only America's Swimming Pool Company disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Pop-A-Lock's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Closures & failure rate
Pop-A-Lock reports 397 franchised outlets, net change -12 in the latest reported year, a 2.7% closure rate (FDD Item 20). America's Swimming Pool Company reports 391 franchised outlets, net change +16 in the latest reported year, a 6.4% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate; the full report puts both brands' churn against other medians.
Litigation
Pop-A-Lock discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (case detail in the full report). America's Swimming Pool Company discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (case detail in the full report).
This page is the headline numbers. The Deep report compares up to three brands on the complete FDD record — every fee line, the actual Item 19 figures and what they represent, each lawsuit, and churn benchmarked against other peers.
Only looking at one of them?
Pop-A-Lock vs America's Swimming Pool Company — frequently asked
Are Pop-A-Lock and America's Swimming Pool Company the same company?
No — Pop-A-Lock and America's Swimming Pool Company are franchised by separate companies. Pop-A-Lock's franchisor is SystemForward America, LLC; America's Swimming Pool Company's is ASP FRANCHISING SPE LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
What is the difference between Pop-A-Lock and America's Swimming Pool Company?
Pop-A-Lock and America's Swimming Pool Company are other franchises from different franchisors (SystemForward America, LLC and ASP FRANCHISING SPE LLC). America's Swimming Pool Company is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $41,048 – $125,121, against $169,565 – $227,610 for Pop-A-Lock. Only America's Swimming Pool Company disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Pop-A-Lock's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Is Pop-A-Lock more profitable than America's Swimming Pool Company?
Only America's Swimming Pool Company disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Pop-A-Lock's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Which is cheaper to open — Pop-A-Lock or America's Swimming Pool Company?
America's Swimming Pool Company is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $41,048 – $125,121, against $169,565 – $227,610 for Pop-A-Lock.
Is Pop-A-Lock or America's Swimming Pool Company growing faster?
Pop-A-Lock reports 397 franchised outlets, net change -12 in the latest reported year, a 2.7% closure rate (FDD Item 20). America's Swimming Pool Company reports 391 franchised outlets, net change +16 in the latest reported year, a 6.4% closure rate (FDD Item 20).
Go deeper on each brand
Other rankings
Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Pop-A-Lock 2024, America's Swimming Pool Company 2024). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.