Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Reportcompare → Subway vs Domino's Pizza

Subway vs Domino's Pizza

Other · head-to-head from each brand's most recent FDD

Two other franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.

SubwayDomino's Pizza
Total initial investment
FDD Item 7
$238,623 – $393,927 $25,000 – $75,000
Initial franchise fee
FDD Item 5
$15,000
Royalty
FDD Item 6
8% 5.5%
Item 19 earnings disclosed
FDD Item 19
Not disclosed Not disclosed
Avg unit revenue (headline)
FDD Item 19
Franchised outlets
FDD Item 20
20,133 6,600
Net outlet change (latest yr)
FDD Item 20
-443 +162
Closure rate
FDD Item 20
Franchisee lawsuits
FDD Item 3
89 disclosed
Risk level
our read
High Medium
FDD year
registration
2024 2024

Are Subway and Domino's Pizza the same company?

No — Subway and Domino's Pizza are franchised by separate companies. Subway's franchisor is Doctor's Associates LLC; Domino's Pizza's is DOMINO'S PIZZA FRANCHISING LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.

Cost to open

Domino's Pizza is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $25,000 – $75,000, against $238,623 – $393,927 for Subway.

How much does each make? (Item 19)

Neither Subway nor Domino's Pizza makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.

Closures & failure rate

Subway reports 20,133 franchised outlets, net change -443 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). Domino's Pizza reports 6,600 franchised outlets, net change +162 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate; the full report puts both brands' churn against other medians.

Litigation

Subway discloses 89 franchisee-vs-franchisor proceedings in FDD Item 3. Domino's Pizza discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (case detail in the full report).

The full side-by-side — $249

This page is the headline numbers. The Deep report compares up to three brands on the complete FDD record — every fee line, the actual Item 19 figures and what they represent, each lawsuit, and churn benchmarked against other peers.

How the report works

Only looking at one of them?

Subway vs Domino's Pizza — frequently asked

Are Subway and Domino's Pizza the same company?

No — Subway and Domino's Pizza are franchised by separate companies. Subway's franchisor is Doctor's Associates LLC; Domino's Pizza's is DOMINO'S PIZZA FRANCHISING LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.

What is the difference between Subway and Domino's Pizza?

Subway and Domino's Pizza are other franchises from different franchisors (Doctor's Associates LLC and DOMINO'S PIZZA FRANCHISING LLC). Domino's Pizza is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $25,000 – $75,000, against $238,623 – $393,927 for Subway. Neither Subway nor Domino's Pizza makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.

Is Subway more profitable than Domino's Pizza?

Neither Subway nor Domino's Pizza makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.

Which is cheaper to open — Subway or Domino's Pizza?

Domino's Pizza is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $25,000 – $75,000, against $238,623 – $393,927 for Subway.

Is Subway or Domino's Pizza growing faster?

Subway reports 20,133 franchised outlets, net change -443 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). Domino's Pizza reports 6,600 franchised outlets, net change +162 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20).

Go deeper on each brand

Subway franchise facts$238,623 – $393,927 · high risk Domino's Pizza franchise facts$25,000 – $75,000 · medium risk

Other rankings

Cheapest Other franchises to openFastest-growing Other franchisesLowest-churn Other franchisesLowest-royalty Other franchisesOther franchises ranked by average revenueOther franchises with disclosed Item 19 earningsOther franchises with the most franchisee lawsuits

Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Subway 2024, Domino's Pizza 2024). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.