Franchise Facts Report → compare → Subway vs Marco's Pizza and Marcos
Subway vs Marco's Pizza and Marcos
Two other franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.
| Subway | Marco's Pizza and Marcos | |
|---|---|---|
| Total initial investment FDD Item 7 | $238,623 – $393,927 | $285,631 – $804,856 |
| Initial franchise fee FDD Item 5 | $15,000 | $5,000 |
| Royalty FDD Item 6 | 8% | 5.5% |
| Item 19 earnings disclosed FDD Item 19 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Avg unit revenue (headline) FDD Item 19 | — | — |
| Franchised outlets FDD Item 20 | 20,133 | 1,076 |
| Net outlet change (latest yr) FDD Item 20 | -443 | +54 |
| Closure rate FDD Item 20 | — | 2.6% |
| Franchisee lawsuits FDD Item 3 | 89 | disclosed |
| Risk level our read | High | Medium |
| FDD year registration | 2024 | 2024 |
Are Subway and Marco's Pizza and Marcos the same company?
No — Subway and Marco's Pizza and Marcos are franchised by separate companies. Subway's franchisor is Doctor's Associates LLC; Marco's Pizza and Marcos's is MARCO'S FRANCHISING LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
Cost to open
Subway is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $238,623 – $393,927, against $285,631 – $804,856 for Marco's Pizza and Marcos.
How much does each make? (Item 19)
Neither Subway nor Marco's Pizza and Marcos makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.
Closures & failure rate
Subway reports 20,133 franchised outlets, net change -443 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). Marco's Pizza and Marcos reports 1,076 franchised outlets, net change +54 in the latest reported year, a 2.6% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate; the full report puts both brands' churn against other medians.
Litigation
Subway discloses 89 franchisee-vs-franchisor proceedings in FDD Item 3. Marco's Pizza and Marcos discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (case detail in the full report).
This page is the headline numbers. The Deep report compares up to three brands on the complete FDD record — every fee line, the actual Item 19 figures and what they represent, each lawsuit, and churn benchmarked against other peers.
Only looking at one of them?
Subway vs Marco's Pizza and Marcos — frequently asked
Are Subway and Marco's Pizza and Marcos the same company?
No — Subway and Marco's Pizza and Marcos are franchised by separate companies. Subway's franchisor is Doctor's Associates LLC; Marco's Pizza and Marcos's is MARCO'S FRANCHISING LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
What is the difference between Subway and Marco's Pizza and Marcos?
Subway and Marco's Pizza and Marcos are other franchises from different franchisors (Doctor's Associates LLC and MARCO'S FRANCHISING LLC). Subway is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $238,623 – $393,927, against $285,631 – $804,856 for Marco's Pizza and Marcos. Neither Subway nor Marco's Pizza and Marcos makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.
Is Subway more profitable than Marco's Pizza and Marcos?
Neither Subway nor Marco's Pizza and Marcos makes an Item 19 financial performance representation in its most recent FDD — neither franchisor discloses what units earn. Any earnings claim you hear for either brand is not backed by the disclosure document.
Which is cheaper to open — Subway or Marco's Pizza and Marcos?
Subway is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $238,623 – $393,927, against $285,631 – $804,856 for Marco's Pizza and Marcos.
Is Subway or Marco's Pizza and Marcos growing faster?
Subway reports 20,133 franchised outlets, net change -443 in the latest reported year (FDD Item 20). Marco's Pizza and Marcos reports 1,076 franchised outlets, net change +54 in the latest reported year, a 2.6% closure rate (FDD Item 20).
Go deeper on each brand
Other rankings
Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Subway 2024, Marco's Pizza and Marcos 2024). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.