Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Batteries Plus

Batteries Plus franchise — is it worth it?

Retail · FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

Medium risk Shrinking network Item 19 disclosed

Batteries Plus is a retail franchise opportunity with an initial investment ranging from $284,786 to $536,636.

Everything below is free, read straight off Batteries Plus's registered filing, with where the numbers land against retail peers. Weighing Batteries Plus against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$284,786 – $536,636
Bottom quartile for retail · median $319,750
Initial franchise fee
$49,500
FDD Item 5
Royalty
5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Disclosed
figure not machine-read
Litigation (Item 3)
2 cases
in Item 3
Closure rate
3%
retail median 4.3%
Outlet network
601 units
-3 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Batteries Plus's most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Financial Institutions — Franchise Registration · filing 640529 — check it yourself. See every other Wisconsin-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Batteries Plus? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Batteries Plus will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

How much does a Batteries Plus franchise make?

Batteries Plus is one of the franchisors that answers this on the record: its most recent FDD makes an Item 19 financial performance representation — actual unit earnings figures, disclosed by the franchisor itself. The headline figure did not machine-read cleanly from this filing, so we don't print one; Item 19 of the source FDD has the tables. See every retail brand that discloses earnings in the Retail franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings ranking.

Batteries Plus franchise profit vs. revenue

Revenue is not profit. An Item 19 almost always reports sales — what a location takes in — not what an owner keeps. Out of that number come Batteries Plus's 5% royalty, the ad fund, rent, payroll, supplies and debt service. No FDD tells you a Batteries Plus franchise's profit, because profit depends on your site, your rent and how you run it — so treat any "Batteries Plus franchise profit" figure quoted elsewhere as someone's estimate, not a disclosure.

Batteries Plus lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Batteries Plus's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026) does disclose 2 legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Batteries Plus itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. 2 of those proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor — the split that actually matters, because franchisees suing their franchisor is the signal a buyer is looking for. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Batteries Plus closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Batteries Plus will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Batteries Plus's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a retail of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Batteries Plus's latest tables show a shrinking franchised network — more units left than opened. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 3%, against a retail median of 4.3% — at or better than the category. Net franchised outlets moved -3 to 601 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Batteries Plus?

Batteries Plus's franchise is offered by Batteries Plus, L.L.C. — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at WI DFI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Retail franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Batteries Plus is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Animal World$57,600 – $75,800Bearfruit$231,200 – $515,000Pro Image Sports$153,800 – $620,500 · Item 19 disclosedMusic Go Round$335,300 – $443,700 · Item 19 disclosedHobbyTown®/HobbyTown USA®$327,100 – $458,000 · Item 19 disclosedStyle Encore$339,200 – $458,900 · Item 19 disclosedPlay It Again Sports$346,300 – $459,700 · Item 19 disclosedTrue Society$221,000 – $600,000 · Item 19 disclosedPlato's Closet$355,700 – $467,900 · Item 19 disclosedOnce Upon A Child$355,700 – $485,900 · Item 19 disclosedApricot Laneinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosedBella Bridesmaidsinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosed

Batteries Plus franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Batteries Plus — who is the franchisor?

Batteries Plus's most recently filed FDD (2026) names Batteries Plus, L.L.C. as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Batteries Plus franchise cost?

Batteries Plus's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $284,786 – $536,636, with an initial franchise fee of $49,500 and a 5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against retail peers it sits in the bottom quartile (median $319,750).

How much profit does a Batteries Plus franchise make?

Batteries Plus discloses unit earnings in Item 19, but that figure is revenue — sales — not profit. Royalties (5% of gross for Batteries Plus), the ad fund, rent, payroll and supplies all come out of it, and no FDD discloses what an owner nets. Any Batteries Plus franchise profit number quoted elsewhere is an estimate.

Does Batteries Plus disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

Yes — Batteries Plus reports unit-level earnings in Item 19. The headline figure did not machine-read cleanly, so check Item 19 of the source FDD for the numbers.

Are there lawsuits against Batteries Plus?

Batteries Plus's most recently filed FDD (2026) discloses 2 legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Batteries Plus itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing. 2 of the disclosed proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor.

Is Batteries Plus a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Batteries Plus's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against retail peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Batteries Plus?

Get a free email when something changes on Batteries Plus or retail: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.