Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Gong cha (Unit)

Gong cha (Unit) franchise — is it worth it?

FDD-based assessment · registered 2025

Medium risk Growing network

What Gong cha (Unit)'s most recent Franchise Disclosure Document says about the money, the litigation, and the franchisee churn — before you wire a five- or six-figure franchise fee.

Everything below is free, read straight off Gong cha (Unit)'s registered filing, with where the numbers land against category peers. Weighing Gong cha (Unit) against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$184,750 – $627,060
Above the other median · median $235,015
Initial franchise fee
$172,500
FDD Item 5
Royalty
6%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
Disclosed
in Item 3
Closure rate
3.2%
FDD Item 20
Outlet network
198 units
+11 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Gong cha (Unit)'s most recent FDD (registered 2025). Source: Minnesota Dept. of Commerce — CARDS franchise registrations · filing 35405-202602-03 — check it yourself. See every other Minnesota-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Gong cha (Unit)? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Gong cha (Unit) will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Gong cha (Unit) franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Gong cha (Unit) does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Gong cha (Unit) — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing; the fees, litigation and outlet churn Gong cha (Unit)'s FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Other franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Gong cha (Unit) lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Gong cha (Unit)'s most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2025) does disclose legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Gong cha (Unit) itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Gong cha (Unit) closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Gong cha (Unit) will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Gong cha (Unit)'s most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a franchise of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Gong cha (Unit)'s latest tables show a growing franchised network. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 3.2%. Net franchised outlets moved +11 to 198 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Gong cha (Unit)?

Gong cha (Unit)'s franchise is offered by Gong cha USA Franchising, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2025), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at MN CARDS; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Franchises at a similar investment level at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Gong cha (Unit) is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Grand Welcome$39,500 – $189,750 · Item 19 disclosedGoliathtech$72,900 – $176,000Good Neighbor Pharmacy$43,797 – $556,405EDIBLE® and EDIBLE ARRANGEMENTS®$213,500 – $587,000 · Item 19 disclosedMrs. Fields$311,500 – $495,850 · Item 19 disclosedKilwins$295,414 – $513,484 · Item 19 disclosedMillie's Homemade Ice Cream$253,500 – $556,500 · Item 19 disclosedPrime IV Hydration (Area Representative)$191,584 – $619,284Melty Way (AR)$191,644 – $619,344Zoom Room$318,500 – $497,050 · Item 19 disclosedPizzeria Uno & Grill$211,500 – $607,500GoMo Tiresinvestment not disclosed

Gong cha (Unit) franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Gong cha (Unit) — who is the franchisor?

Gong cha (Unit)'s most recently filed FDD (2025) names Gong cha USA Franchising, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Gong cha (Unit) franchise cost?

Gong cha (Unit)'s most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $184,750 – $627,060, with an initial franchise fee of $172,500 and a 6% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against category peers it sits in the lower quartile (median $235,015).

How much profit does a Gong cha (Unit) franchise make?

Gong cha (Unit) makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Gong cha (Unit) at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Gong cha (Unit) disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Gong cha (Unit)'s most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing.

Are there lawsuits against Gong cha (Unit)?

Gong cha (Unit)'s most recently filed FDD (2025) discloses legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Gong cha (Unit) itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is Gong cha (Unit) a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Gong cha (Unit)'s numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against category peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Gong cha (Unit)?

Get a free email when something changes on Gong cha (Unit) or this category: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.