Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Hurts Donut Company-Unit

Hurts Donut Company-Unit franchise — is it worth it?

Food & beverage · FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

High risk Significant turnover

Hurts Donut Company-Unit Franchise operates in the food & beverage sector, requiring an initial investment between $504,000 and $825,000.

Everything below is free, read straight off Hurts Donut Company-Unit's registered filing, with where the numbers land against food & beverage peers. Weighing Hurts Donut Company-Unit against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$504,000 – $825,000
Bottom quartile for food & beverage · median $379,725
Initial franchise fee
$35,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
7%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed
Closure rate
16.7%
food & beverage median 3.3%
Outlet network
15 units
-3 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Hurts Donut Company-Unit's most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Financial Institutions — Franchise Registration · filing 640852 — check it yourself. See every other Wisconsin-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Hurts Donut Company-Unit? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Hurts Donut Company-Unit will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Hurts Donut Company-Unit franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Hurts Donut Company-Unit does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Hurts Donut Company-Unit — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (42% of food & beverage franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Hurts Donut Company-Unit's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Food & beverage franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Hurts Donut Company-Unit lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Hurts Donut Company-Unit's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

Hurts Donut Company-Unit closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Hurts Donut Company-Unit will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Hurts Donut Company-Unit's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a food & beverage of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Hurts Donut Company-Unit's latest tables show significant franchisee turnover. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 16.7%, against a food & beverage median of 3.3% — worse than the category. Net franchised outlets moved -3 to 15 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Hurts Donut Company-Unit?

Hurts Donut Company-Unit's franchise is offered by Hurts Donut Company, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at WI DFI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Food & beverage franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Hurts Donut Company-Unit is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Hot Stuff Pizza/$63,097 – $173,097Identity Coffee Co.$175,300 – $345,500 · Item 19 disclosedI and S FR$262,300 – $395,350 · Item 19 disclosedHouse of Bread$198,000 – $584,000 · Item 19 disclosedKilwins$405,045 – $880,295 · Item 19 disclosedParlor Doughnuts$467,000 – $863,000 · Item 19 disclosedPlaya Bowls$281,960 – $1,055,594HoneyBaked$514,200 – $829,600 · Item 19 disclosedCRAVE$161,300 – $1,192,500Toastique$471,152 – $890,846Milkshake Factory$551,705 – $814,508 · Item 19 disclosedShipley Do-Nuts$516,512 – $855,147 · Item 19 disclosed

Hurts Donut Company-Unit franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Hurts Donut Company-Unit — who is the franchisor?

Hurts Donut Company-Unit's most recently filed FDD (2026) names Hurts Donut Company, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Hurts Donut Company-Unit franchise cost?

Hurts Donut Company-Unit's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $504,000 – $825,000, with an initial franchise fee of $35,000 and a 7% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against food & beverage peers it sits in the bottom quartile (median $379,725).

How much profit does a Hurts Donut Company-Unit franchise make?

Hurts Donut Company-Unit makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Hurts Donut Company-Unit at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Hurts Donut Company-Unit disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Hurts Donut Company-Unit's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 42% of food & beverage franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Hurts Donut Company-Unit?

No — Hurts Donut Company-Unit's most recently filed FDD (2026) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is Hurts Donut Company-Unit a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Hurts Donut Company-Unit's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against food & beverage peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is high risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Hurts Donut Company-Unit?

Get a free email when something changes on Hurts Donut Company-Unit or food & beverage: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.