Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Reportbrands → Learning Express

Learning Express franchise — is it worth it?

FDD-based assessment · registered 2020

Medium risk Shrinking network Item 19 disclosed

What Learning Express's most recent Franchise Disclosure Document says about the money, the litigation, and the franchisee churn — before you wire a five- or six-figure franchise fee.

Everything below is free, read straight off Learning Express's registered filing. The $99 report is the part a single FDD can't give you: the earnings figures themselves, and where every number lands against category peers.

Get the full report — $99what's inside ↓
Total initial investment
FDD Item 7
Initial franchise fee
$35,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Disclosed
figures locked
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed
Outlet network
101 units
-8 last year
The full Learning Express report — $99

The numbers above tell you what Learning Express discloses. The report tells you whether that's good:

Not useful? Reply to your delivery email within 14 days for a refund — no forms, no argument.

Compare 3 brands — $249 See a sample report

Figures above are as disclosed in Learning Express's most recent FDD (registered 2020). Source: Minnesota Dept. of Commerce — CARDS franchise registrations · filing 10921-202003-03 — check it yourself. The Item 19 figures, where each number ranks against peers, and the litigation & churn detail are in the full report. See every other Minnesota-registered franchise.

How much does a Learning Express franchise make?

Learning Express is one of the franchisors that answers this on the record: its most recent FDD makes an Item 19 financial performance representation — actual unit earnings figures, disclosed by the franchisor itself. The average revenue Learning Express reports, what that figure does and doesn't include, and where it ranks against category peers are in the full report. See every other brand that discloses earnings in the Other franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings ranking.

Learning Express franchise profit vs. revenue

Revenue is not profit. An Item 19 almost always reports sales — what a location takes in — not what an owner keeps. Out of that number come Learning Express's 5% royalty, the ad fund, rent, payroll, supplies and debt service. No FDD tells you a Learning Express franchise's profit, because profit depends on your site, your rent and how you run it — so treat any "Learning Express franchise profit" figure quoted elsewhere as someone's estimate, not a disclosure. The full report sets Learning Express's disclosed revenue against its total ongoing fee load, so you can see what that revenue has to cover before anything reaches you.

Learning Express lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Learning Express's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2020) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

Learning Express closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Learning Express will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Learning Express's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a franchise of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Learning Express's latest tables show a shrinking franchised network — more units left than opened. The actual closure and termination counts, and how Learning Express's churn ranks against category peers, are in the full report.

The full Learning Express report — $99

The Item 19 earnings figures, every number ranked against category peers, and the litigation and churn detail — delivered instantly, yours to keep.

Not useful? Reply to your delivery email within 14 days for a refund — no forms, no argument.

Who owns Learning Express?

Learning Express's franchise is offered by Learning Express, Inc. — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2020), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at MN CARDS; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Other franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Learning Express is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Legacy Claims Services$67,900 – $137,900212 Contender eSports$195,980 – $406,030LaVida Massage$293,250 – $499,500180 Water$186,111 – $712,6401-800-FLOWERS/1-800-FLOWERS.COM$258,500 – $932,5001-800-TEXTILES$358,200 – $939,000 · Item 19 disclosed2 Hours of Freedom$465,623 – $892,693 · Item 19 disclosedLaundry Spot$1,268,500 – $2,241,750 · Item 19 disclosed1-800-GOT-JUNK?$16,880,018 – $25,815,029 · Item 19 disclosed1-800-FLOWERSinvestment not disclosed1Heart Caregiver Servicesinvestment not disclosed · Item 19 disclosedLevel Up Learninginvestment not disclosed

Learning Express franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Learning Express — who is the franchisor?

Learning Express's most recently filed FDD (2020) names Learning Express, Inc. as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Learning Express franchise cost?

Learning Express's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at a range disclosed in Item 7, with an initial franchise fee of $35,000 and a 5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. The full report breaks down every fee line and benchmarks it against category peers.

How much profit does a Learning Express franchise make?

Learning Express discloses unit earnings in Item 19, but that figure is revenue — sales — not profit. Royalties (5% of gross for Learning Express), the ad fund, rent, payroll and supplies all come out of it, and no FDD discloses what an owner nets. Any Learning Express franchise profit number quoted elsewhere is an estimate. The full report shows the disclosed revenue against the full ongoing fee load it has to cover.

Does Learning Express disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

Yes — Learning Express reports unit-level earnings in Item 19. The full report shows the actual revenue figures and how they rank against category peers.

Are there lawsuits against Learning Express?

No — Learning Express's most recently filed FDD (2020) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is Learning Express a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Learning Express's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against category peers, which is what the full report is for. Our read on this filing is medium risk, stated free above. For $99 you get the figures driving that read, the actual Item 19 earnings (disclosed in this FDD), where every figure ranks against peers, and the specific questions to ask the franchisor before you sign.

Decide with the numbers — $99

A Learning Express franchise is a six-figure decision you make once, on a ten-year agreement, usually with a personal guarantee behind it. For $99 you get an independent read of the document that decides it: the actual Item 19 earnings, every figure ranked against category peers, the litigation split into franchisee and corporate matters, the churn behind the outlet count — and the questions to put to the franchisor before you sign. If it tells you nothing new, reply within 14 days and we'll refund it.

Not useful? Reply to your delivery email within 14 days for a refund — no forms, no argument.

Compare 3 brands — $249
Not ready to spend $99 yet?

Get a free email when something changes on Learning Express or this category: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same registries every report is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.