Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Nathan's Famous

Nathan's Famous franchise — is it worth it?

Quick-service restaurant · FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

Medium risk Growing network

Nathan's Famous is a well-known quick-service restaurant brand with an investment range of $233,000 to $1,063,500.

Everything below is free, read straight off Nathan's Famous's registered filing, with where the numbers land against quick-service restaurant peers. Weighing Nathan's Famous against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$233,000 – $1,063,500
Above the quick-service restaurant median · median $603,569
Initial franchise fee
—
FDD Item 5
Royalty
5.5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
1 case
in Item 3
Closure rate
7%
quick-service restaurant median 2.8%
Outlet network
76 units
+5 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Nathan's Famous's most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Minnesota Dept. of Commerce — CARDS franchise registrations · filing 37058-202607-06 — check it yourself. See every other Minnesota-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Nathan's Famous? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Nathan's Famous will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Nathan's Famous franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Nathan's Famous does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Nathan's Famous — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (56% of quick-service restaurant franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Nathan's Famous's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Fast food & quick-service restaurant franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Nathan's Famous lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Nathan's Famous's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026) does disclose 1 legal proceeding in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Nathan's Famous itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Nathan's Famous closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Nathan's Famous will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Nathan's Famous's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a quick-service restaurant of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Nathan's Famous's latest tables show a growing franchised network. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 7%, against a quick-service restaurant median of 2.8% — worse than the category. Net franchised outlets moved +5 to 76 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Nathan's Famous?

Nathan's Famous's franchise is offered by NATHAN'S FAMOUS SYSTEMS INC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at MN CARDS; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it. The same franchisor files separate FDDs for other brands, which is worth knowing — sibling brands share a franchise-support organization but disclose their own numbers:

Nathan's Branded Menu Programsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rate

Quick-service restaurant franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Nathan's Famous is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Nashville Hot Chicken$237,200 – $481,500My Ny Sports Pizza$268,000 – $909,000Doner Haus$516,869 – $763,804 · Item 19 disclosedKentro Franchising, LCC$387,800 – $896,800 · Item 19 disclosedBurger Exotic Village$483,500 – $801,500Garbanzo Mediterranean Fresh$552,057 – $734,957 · Item 19 disclosedNick the Greek$417,750 – $875,500 · Item 19 disclosedLazzara$377,750 – $925,250 · Item 19 disclosedYour Pie$369,250 – $939,500 · Item 19 disclosedWadaya Mazemen and Ramen$474,500 – $842,500Nation's Giant Hamburgers$750,000 – $1,150,000 · Item 19 disclosedNative Grill and Wings$1,017,000 – $2,905,000 · Item 19 disclosed

Nathan's Famous franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Nathan's Famous — who is the franchisor?

Nathan's Famous's most recently filed FDD (2026) names NATHAN'S FAMOUS SYSTEMS INC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. The same franchisor also files FDDs for Nathan's Branded Menu Program. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Nathan's Famous franchise cost?

Nathan's Famous's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $233,000 – $1,063,500 and a 5.5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against quick-service restaurant peers it sits in the lower quartile (median $603,569).

How much profit does a Nathan's Famous franchise make?

Nathan's Famous makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Nathan's Famous at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Nathan's Famous disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Nathan's Famous's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 56% of quick-service restaurant franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Nathan's Famous?

Nathan's Famous's most recently filed FDD (2026) discloses 1 legal proceeding in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Nathan's Famous itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is Nathan's Famous a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Nathan's Famous's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against quick-service restaurant peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Nathan's Famous?

Get a free email when something changes on Nathan's Famous or quick-service restaurant: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.