Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter

Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter franchise — is it worth it?

Home services · FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

Medium risk Shrinking network

ROTO-ROOTER CORPORATION offers a home services franchise with an initial investment ranging from $123,110 to $281,550.

Everything below is free, read straight off Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter's registered filing, with where the numbers land against home services peers. Weighing Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$123,110 – $281,550
Above the home services median · median $162,725
Initial franchise fee
$25,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
—
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed
Outlet network
333 units
-4 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter's most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Minnesota Dept. of Commerce — CARDS franchise registrations · filing 35704-202603-04 — check it yourself. See every other Minnesota-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (77% of home services franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Home services & home improvement franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a home services of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter's latest tables show a shrinking franchised network — more units left than opened. Net franchised outlets moved -4 to 333 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter?

Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter's franchise is offered by ROTO-ROOTER CORPORATION — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at MN CARDS; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it. The same franchisor files separate FDDs for other brands, which is worth knowing — sibling brands share a franchise-support organization but disclose their own numbers:

Roto-Rootersame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rate

Home services franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Roof Scientist$1,000 – $3,000 · Item 19 disclosedScreenmobile$148,049 – $209,592 · Item 19 disclosedStevenstone Inc. (NEW CREATIONS)$92,290 – $307,624Stand Strong Fencing$160,181 – $241,071 · Item 19 disclosedSquare Cow Moovers$163,250 – $238,750 · Item 19 disclosedPro Lift Garage Doors$159,100 – $244,000 · Item 19 disclosedMiracle Method$142,500 – $261,800 · Item 19 disclosedEpic Septic$165,648 – $239,537 · Item 19 disclosedOutdoor Lighting Perspectives$180,700 – $226,500 · Item 19 disclosedOrder a Plumber$147,300 – $261,500 · Item 19 disclosedSealMaster$64,300 – $579,800 · Item 19 disclosed

Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter — who is the franchisor?

Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter's most recently filed FDD (2026) names ROTO-ROOTER CORPORATION as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. The same franchisor also files FDDs for Roto-Rooter. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter franchise cost?

Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $123,110 – $281,550, with an initial franchise fee of $25,000. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against home services peers it sits in the lower quartile (median $162,725).

How much profit does a Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter franchise make?

Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 77% of home services franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter?

No — Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter's most recently filed FDD (2026) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against home services peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter?

Get a free email when something changes on Roto-Rooter Roto-Rooter or home services: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.