Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Reportcompare → Arthur Murray Dance Studio vs Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping

Arthur Murray Dance Studio vs Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping

Other · head-to-head from each brand's most recent FDD

Two other franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.

Arthur Murray Dance StudioFarrell's Extreme Bodyshaping
Total initial investment
FDD Item 7
$71,120 – $252,120 $214,778 – $413,228
Initial franchise fee
FDD Item 5
$100,000 $15,000
Royalty
FDD Item 6
5% 7.5%
Item 19 earnings disclosed
FDD Item 19
Yes Not disclosed
Avg unit revenue (headline)
FDD Item 19
in report
Franchised outlets
FDD Item 20
237 46
Net outlet change (latest yr)
FDD Item 20
+7 -4
Closure rate
FDD Item 20
1.7% 10%
Franchisee lawsuits
FDD Item 3
disclosed
Risk level
our read
Low High
FDD year
registration
2025 2024

Are Arthur Murray Dance Studio and Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping the same company?

No — Arthur Murray Dance Studio and Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping are franchised by separate companies. Arthur Murray Dance Studio's franchisor is ARTHUR MURRAY INTERNATIONAL, INC.; Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping's is Fit Franchise Brands, LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.

Cost to open

Arthur Murray Dance Studio is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $71,120 – $252,120, against $214,778 – $413,228 for Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping.

How much does each make? (Item 19)

Only Arthur Murray Dance Studio disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.

Closures & failure rate

Arthur Murray Dance Studio reports 237 franchised outlets, net change +7 in the latest reported year, a 1.7% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping reports 46 franchised outlets, net change -4 in the latest reported year, a 10% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate; the full report puts both brands' churn against other medians.

Litigation

Arthur Murray Dance Studio discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (case detail in the full report). Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping's Item 3 could not be read from its filing, so we make no claim either way.

The full side-by-side — $249

This page is the headline numbers. The Deep report compares up to three brands on the complete FDD record — every fee line, the actual Item 19 figures and what they represent, each lawsuit, and churn benchmarked against other peers.

How the report works

Only looking at one of them?

Arthur Murray Dance Studio vs Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping — frequently asked

Are Arthur Murray Dance Studio and Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping the same company?

No — Arthur Murray Dance Studio and Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping are franchised by separate companies. Arthur Murray Dance Studio's franchisor is ARTHUR MURRAY INTERNATIONAL, INC.; Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping's is Fit Franchise Brands, LLC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.

What is the difference between Arthur Murray Dance Studio and Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping?

Arthur Murray Dance Studio and Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping are other franchises from different franchisors (ARTHUR MURRAY INTERNATIONAL, INC. and Fit Franchise Brands, LLC). Arthur Murray Dance Studio is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $71,120 – $252,120, against $214,778 – $413,228 for Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping. Only Arthur Murray Dance Studio disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.

Is Arthur Murray Dance Studio more profitable than Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping?

Only Arthur Murray Dance Studio disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.

Which is cheaper to open — Arthur Murray Dance Studio or Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping?

Arthur Murray Dance Studio is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $71,120 – $252,120, against $214,778 – $413,228 for Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping.

Is Arthur Murray Dance Studio or Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping growing faster?

Arthur Murray Dance Studio reports 237 franchised outlets, net change +7 in the latest reported year, a 1.7% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping reports 46 franchised outlets, net change -4 in the latest reported year, a 10% closure rate (FDD Item 20).

Go deeper on each brand

Arthur Murray Dance Studio franchise facts$71,120 – $252,120 · low risk Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping franchise facts$214,778 – $413,228 · high risk

Other rankings

Cheapest Other franchises to openFastest-growing Other franchisesLowest-churn Other franchisesLowest-royalty Other franchisesOther franchises ranked by average revenueOther franchises with disclosed Item 19 earningsOther franchises with the most franchisee lawsuits

Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Arthur Murray Dance Studio 2025, Farrell's Extreme Bodyshaping 2024). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.