Franchise Facts Report → compare → Kung Fu Tea vs Kilwins
Kung Fu Tea vs Kilwins
Two other franchises, compared on the numbers their own Franchise Disclosure Documents put on record — investment, fees, Item 19 earnings, outlet churn, and litigation. Not marketing copy.
| Kung Fu Tea | Kilwins | |
|---|---|---|
| Total initial investment FDD Item 7 | $169,000 – $378,000 | $295,414 – $513,484 |
| Initial franchise fee FDD Item 5 | $37,000 | $40,000 |
| Royalty FDD Item 6 | 4% | 5% |
| Item 19 earnings disclosed FDD Item 19 | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Avg unit revenue (headline) FDD Item 19 | — | in report |
| Franchised outlets FDD Item 20 | 378 | 168 |
| Net outlet change (latest yr) FDD Item 20 | +39 | +9 |
| Closure rate FDD Item 20 | 5.9% | 3.1% |
| Franchisee lawsuits FDD Item 3 | disclosed | disclosed |
| Risk level our read | Medium | Low |
| FDD year registration | 2024 | 2025 |
Are Kung Fu Tea and Kilwins the same company?
No — Kung Fu Tea and Kilwins are franchised by separate companies. Kung Fu Tea's franchisor is KF TEA FRANCHISING LLC; Kilwins's is KILWIN'S CHOCOLATES FRANCHISE INC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
Cost to open
Kung Fu Tea is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $169,000 – $378,000, against $295,414 – $513,484 for Kilwins.
How much does each make? (Item 19)
Only Kilwins disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Kung Fu Tea's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Closures & failure rate
Kung Fu Tea reports 378 franchised outlets, net change +39 in the latest reported year, a 5.9% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Kilwins reports 168 franchised outlets, net change +9 in the latest reported year, a 3.1% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Outlet churn — closures, terminations, non-renewals — is the closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate; the full report puts both brands' churn against other medians.
Litigation
Kung Fu Tea discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (case detail in the full report). Kilwins discloses litigation in FDD Item 3 (case detail in the full report).
This page is the headline numbers. The Deep report compares up to three brands on the complete FDD record — every fee line, the actual Item 19 figures and what they represent, each lawsuit, and churn benchmarked against other peers.
Only looking at one of them?
Kung Fu Tea vs Kilwins — frequently asked
Are Kung Fu Tea and Kilwins the same company?
No — Kung Fu Tea and Kilwins are franchised by separate companies. Kung Fu Tea's franchisor is KF TEA FRANCHISING LLC; Kilwins's is KILWIN'S CHOCOLATES FRANCHISE INC. Each registers and files its own Franchise Disclosure Document, and you would be signing with a different entity depending on which you chose. Note that a registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent — two brands owned by the same parent company can still have separate franchisors.
What is the difference between Kung Fu Tea and Kilwins?
Kung Fu Tea and Kilwins are other franchises from different franchisors (KF TEA FRANCHISING LLC and KILWIN'S CHOCOLATES FRANCHISE INC). Kung Fu Tea is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $169,000 – $378,000, against $295,414 – $513,484 for Kilwins. Only Kilwins disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Kung Fu Tea's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Is Kung Fu Tea more profitable than Kilwins?
Only Kilwins disclosed earnings: it makes an Item 19 financial performance representation, while Kung Fu Tea's most recent FDD makes none. That asymmetry is itself a data point: one franchisor puts its unit economics on paper, the other doesn't.
Which is cheaper to open — Kung Fu Tea or Kilwins?
Kung Fu Tea is the cheaper franchise to open: its FDD Item 7 puts the total initial investment at $169,000 – $378,000, against $295,414 – $513,484 for Kilwins.
Is Kung Fu Tea or Kilwins growing faster?
Kung Fu Tea reports 378 franchised outlets, net change +39 in the latest reported year, a 5.9% closure rate (FDD Item 20). Kilwins reports 168 franchised outlets, net change +9 in the latest reported year, a 3.1% closure rate (FDD Item 20).
Go deeper on each brand
Other rankings
Figures are as disclosed in each brand's most recent registered FDD (Kung Fu Tea 2024, Kilwins 2025). “—” means the FDD does not disclose it or the table did not parse cleanly — never an estimate.