Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Barrio Queen

Barrio Queen franchise — is it worth it?

Full-service restaurant · FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

High risk

Barrio Queen is a full-service restaurant franchise with a substantial initial investment ranging from $1.3M to $5.5M.

Everything below is free, read straight off Barrio Queen's registered filing, with where the numbers land against full-service restaurant peers. Weighing Barrio Queen against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$1,346,500 – $5,495,000
Bottom quartile for full-service restaurant · median $1,392,100
Initial franchise fee
$50,000
FDD Item 5
Royalty
5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
5 cases
in Item 3

Figures above are as disclosed in Barrio Queen's most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Financial Institutions — Franchise Registration · filing 640488 — check it yourself. See every other Wisconsin-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Barrio Queen? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Barrio Queen will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Barrio Queen franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Barrio Queen does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Barrio Queen — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (54% of full-service restaurant franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Barrio Queen's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Full-service restaurant franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Barrio Queen lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Barrio Queen's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026) does disclose 5 legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Barrio Queen itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. 5 of those proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor — the split that actually matters, because franchisees suing their franchisor is the signal a buyer is looking for. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Barrio Queen closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Barrio Queen will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Barrio Queen's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a full-service restaurant of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Barrio Queen's outlet tables did not machine-read cleanly; Item 20 of the source FDD has them.

Who owns Barrio Queen?

Barrio Queen's franchise is offered by BQ Concepts, LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at WI DFI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it. The same franchisor files separate FDDs for other brands, which is worth knowing — sibling brands share a franchise-support organization but disclose their own numbers:

Sauce Pizza / Winesame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rate

Full-service restaurant franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Barrio Queen is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

BJIP$202,500 – $802,500 · Item 19 disclosedBarrel House$680,000 – $1,662,000 · Item 19 disclosedAnother Broken Egg Cafe$792,500 – $1,804,000 · Item 19 disclosedBlack Bear Diner$1,495,700 – $2,238,600 · Item 19 disclosedGyu-Kaku$2,268,261 – $3,418,836Tgi Fridays$1,356,100 – $4,515,600 · Item 19 disclosedRodizio Grill®$1,575,500 – $4,870,000 · Item 19 disclosedBYC$1,650,150 – $4,883,700 · Item 19 disclosedCalifornia Pizza Kitchen$1,582,000 – $5,377,500Wissota Chophouse$1,215,650 – $6,618,950Red Robin Restaurant$2,705,000 – $5,785,000Red Robin Restaurants$2,705,000 – $5,785,000

Barrio Queen franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Barrio Queen — who is the franchisor?

Barrio Queen's most recently filed FDD (2026) names BQ Concepts, LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. The same franchisor also files FDDs for Sauce Pizza / Wine. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Barrio Queen franchise cost?

Barrio Queen's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $1,346,500 – $5,495,000, with an initial franchise fee of $50,000 and a 5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against full-service restaurant peers it sits in the bottom quartile (median $1,392,100).

How much profit does a Barrio Queen franchise make?

Barrio Queen makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Barrio Queen at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Barrio Queen disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Barrio Queen's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 54% of full-service restaurant franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Barrio Queen?

Barrio Queen's most recently filed FDD (2026) discloses 5 legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Barrio Queen itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing. 5 of the disclosed proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor.

Is Barrio Queen a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Barrio Queen's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against full-service restaurant peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is high risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Barrio Queen?

Get a free email when something changes on Barrio Queen or full-service restaurant: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.