Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Red Robin Restaurant

Red Robin Restaurant franchise — is it worth it?

Full-service restaurant · FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

Medium risk Shrinking network

Red Robin Restaurant is a full-service restaurant brand requiring a substantial initial investment between $2.7 million and $5.8 million.

Everything below is free, read straight off Red Robin Restaurant's registered filing, with where the numbers land against full-service restaurant peers. Weighing Red Robin Restaurant against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$2,705,000 – $5,785,000
Bottom quartile for full-service restaurant · median $1,392,100
Initial franchise fee
—
FDD Item 5
Royalty
5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed
Closure rate
1.3%
full-service restaurant median 1%
Outlet network
79 units
-1 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Red Robin Restaurant's most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Minnesota Dept. of Commerce — CARDS franchise registrations · filing 36347-202604-14 — check it yourself. See every other Minnesota-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Red Robin Restaurant? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Red Robin Restaurant will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Red Robin Restaurant franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Red Robin Restaurant does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Red Robin Restaurant — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (54% of full-service restaurant franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Red Robin Restaurant's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Full-service restaurant franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Red Robin Restaurant lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Red Robin Restaurant's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

Red Robin Restaurant closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Red Robin Restaurant will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Red Robin Restaurant's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a full-service restaurant of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Red Robin Restaurant's latest tables show a shrinking franchised network — more units left than opened. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 1.3%, against a full-service restaurant median of 1% — worse than the category. Net franchised outlets moved -1 to 79 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Red Robin Restaurant?

Red Robin Restaurant's franchise is offered by RED ROBIN INTERNATIIONAL, INC. — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at MN CARDS; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Full-service restaurant franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Red Robin Restaurant is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Point$354,700 – $1,177,000 · Item 19 disclosedPHOENIX FRANCHISE GROUP LLC (Rodizio Grill)$1,023,000 – $3,600,000 · Item 19 disclosedRodizio Grill®$1,575,500 – $4,870,000 · Item 19 disclosedBYC$1,650,150 – $4,883,700 · Item 19 disclosedBarrio Queen$1,346,500 – $5,495,000California Pizza Kitchen$1,582,000 – $5,377,500Wissota Chophouse$1,215,650 – $6,618,950Red Robin Restaurants$2,705,000 – $5,785,000Ruth's Chris Steak House$2,502,000 – $6,405,000Ford's Garage$2,728,800 – $6,403,000 · Item 19 disclosedGolden Corral$3,631,328 – $6,162,930 · Item 19 disclosedChili's$4,231,695 – $6,515,695

Red Robin Restaurant franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Red Robin Restaurant — who is the franchisor?

Red Robin Restaurant's most recently filed FDD (2026) names RED ROBIN INTERNATIIONAL, INC. as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Red Robin Restaurant franchise cost?

Red Robin Restaurant's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $2,705,000 – $5,785,000 and a 5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against full-service restaurant peers it sits in the bottom quartile (median $1,392,100).

How much profit does a Red Robin Restaurant franchise make?

Red Robin Restaurant makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Red Robin Restaurant at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Red Robin Restaurant disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Red Robin Restaurant's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 54% of full-service restaurant franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Red Robin Restaurant?

No — Red Robin Restaurant's most recently filed FDD (2026) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is Red Robin Restaurant a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Red Robin Restaurant's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against full-service restaurant peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Red Robin Restaurant?

Get a free email when something changes on Red Robin Restaurant or full-service restaurant: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.