Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Motto by Hilton

Motto by Hilton franchise — is it worth it?

Travel & hospitality · FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

Medium risk

Motto by Hilton is a hotel franchise opportunity within the travel and hospitality sector, requiring a substantial investment ranging from approximately $19.4 million to $93.8 million.

Everything below is free, read straight off Motto by Hilton's registered filing, with where the numbers land against travel & hospitality peers. Weighing Motto by Hilton against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$19,394,754 – $93,811,167
Bottom quartile for travel & hospitality · median $3,332,700
Initial franchise fee
—
FDD Item 5
Royalty
5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
Disclosed
in Item 3

Figures above are as disclosed in Motto by Hilton's most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Financial Institutions — Franchise Registration · filing 640547 — check it yourself. See every other Wisconsin-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Motto by Hilton? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Motto by Hilton will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Motto by Hilton franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Motto by Hilton does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Motto by Hilton — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (50% of travel & hospitality franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Motto by Hilton's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Hotel, travel & hospitality franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Motto by Hilton lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Motto by Hilton's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026) does disclose legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Motto by Hilton itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Motto by Hilton closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Motto by Hilton will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Motto by Hilton's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a travel & hospitality of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Motto by Hilton's outlet tables did not machine-read cleanly; Item 20 of the source FDD has them.

Who owns Motto by Hilton?

Motto by Hilton's franchise is offered by Hilton Franchise Holding LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at WI DFI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it. The same franchisor files separate FDDs for other brands, which is worth knowing — sibling brands share a franchise-support organization but disclose their own numbers:

Apartment Collection by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateCanopy andsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateCurio - A Collection by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateDoubleTree by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateEmbassy Suites Hotelssame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateGraduate by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateHampton Inn;same franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateHilton Garden Innsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateHome2 Suites by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateHomewood Suites by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateLivSmart Studios by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateLXR Hotels & Resortssame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateOutset Collection by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateSpark by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateTapestry Collection by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateTempo by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateTru by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateUndergraduate by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rate

Travel & hospitality franchises at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Motto by Hilton is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham$92,736 – $118,002 · Item 19 disclosedMy Place Hotels$98,735 – $126,910Nautical Boat Club$396,700 – $697,000 · Item 19 disclosedCrowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts$14,235,404 – $76,904,134 · Item 19 disclosedHyatt Centric$54,547,393 – $89,056,821 · Item 19 disclosedMGallery Hotel Collectioninvestment not disclosed

Motto by Hilton franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Motto by Hilton — who is the franchisor?

Motto by Hilton's most recently filed FDD (2026) names Hilton Franchise Holding LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. The same franchisor also files FDDs for Apartment Collection by Hilton, Canopy and, Curio - A Collection by Hilton, DoubleTree by Hilton, Embassy Suites Hotels, Graduate by Hilton, Hampton Inn;, Hilton Garden Inn, Home2 Suites by Hilton, Homewood Suites by Hilton, LivSmart Studios by Hilton, LXR Hotels & Resorts, Outset Collection by Hilton, Spark by Hilton, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, Tempo by Hilton, Tru by Hilton, Undergraduate by Hilton. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Motto by Hilton franchise cost?

Motto by Hilton's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $19,394,754 – $93,811,167 and a 5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against travel & hospitality peers it sits in the bottom quartile (median $3,332,700).

How much profit does a Motto by Hilton franchise make?

Motto by Hilton makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Motto by Hilton at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Motto by Hilton disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Motto by Hilton's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 50% of travel & hospitality franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Motto by Hilton?

Motto by Hilton's most recently filed FDD (2026) discloses legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Motto by Hilton itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing.

Is Motto by Hilton a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Motto by Hilton's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against travel & hospitality peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Motto by Hilton?

Get a free email when something changes on Motto by Hilton or travel & hospitality: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.