Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Canopy and

Canopy and franchise — is it worth it?

Travel & hospitality · FDD-based assessment · registered 2026

High risk

Canopy and Canopy by Hilton is a travel and hospitality brand requiring a substantial investment between $57.4 million and $128.3 million.

Everything below is free, read straight off Canopy and's registered filing. Weighing Canopy and against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
—
FDD Item 7
Initial franchise fee
—
FDD Item 5
Royalty
5%
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
11 cases
in Item 3

Figures above are as disclosed in Canopy and's most recent FDD (registered 2026). Source: Wisconsin Dept. of Financial Institutions — Franchise Registration · filing 640535 — check it yourself. See every other Wisconsin-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Canopy and? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Canopy and will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Canopy and franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Canopy and does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Canopy and — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing (50% of travel & hospitality franchisors in our corpus do disclose); the fees, litigation and outlet churn Canopy and's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Hotel, travel & hospitality franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Canopy and lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Canopy and's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026) does disclose 11 legal proceedings in Item 3 . Item 3 is the item where a franchisor must put its material legal history on the record. Two things it is not: it covers the franchisor and its predecessors, parents and affiliates, so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Canopy and itself; and a disclosure is a fact, not a finding of wrongdoing — most entries are contract disputes with former franchisees, which every large system accumulates. 5 of those proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor — the split that actually matters, because franchisees suing their franchisor is the signal a buyer is looking for. Item 3 of the source FDD describes each case.

Canopy and closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Canopy and will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Canopy and's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a travel & hospitality of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Canopy and's outlet tables did not machine-read cleanly; Item 20 of the source FDD has them.

Who owns Canopy and?

Canopy and's franchise is offered by Hilton Franchise Holding LLC — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2026), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at WI DFI; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it. The same franchisor files separate FDDs for other brands, which is worth knowing — sibling brands share a franchise-support organization but disclose their own numbers:

Apartment Collection by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateCurio - A Collection by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateDoubleTree by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateEmbassy Suites Hotelssame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateGraduate by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateHampton Inn;same franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateHilton Garden Innsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateHome2 Suites by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateHomewood Suites by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateLivSmart Studios by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateLXR Hotels & Resortssame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateMotto by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateOutset Collection by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateSpark by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateTapestry Collection by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateTempo by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateTru by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rateUndergraduate by Hiltonsame franchisor · cost · earnings · failure rate

Other travel & hospitality franchises

Anyone weighing Canopy and is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Atwell Suites$35,000 – $38,000Candlewood Suites$35,000 – $38,000 · Item 19 disclosedBaymont Inn$105,591 – $145,623 · Item 19 disclosedAmericInn, AmericInn Lodge & Suites, AmericInn Hotel & Suites, AmericInn by Wyndham$105,151 – $149,052 · Item 19 disclosedCasago International (Unit)$51,275 – $413,000Casago$23,000 – $1,287,000Affordable Suites of America$193,100 – $1,765,100 · Item 19 disclosedBW Premier Collection;$442,540 – $6,890,025Best Western;$581,925 – $12,658,075avid hotels$11,097,665 – $16,778,020 · Item 19 disclosedCAMP Margaritavilleinvestment not disclosed

Canopy and franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Canopy and — who is the franchisor?

Canopy and's most recently filed FDD (2026) names Hilton Franchise Holding LLC as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. The same franchisor also files FDDs for Apartment Collection by Hilton, Curio - A Collection by Hilton, DoubleTree by Hilton, Embassy Suites Hotels, Graduate by Hilton, Hampton Inn;, Hilton Garden Inn, Home2 Suites by Hilton, Homewood Suites by Hilton, LivSmart Studios by Hilton, LXR Hotels & Resorts, Motto by Hilton, Outset Collection by Hilton, Spark by Hilton, Tapestry Collection by Hilton, Tempo by Hilton, Tru by Hilton, Undergraduate by Hilton. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Canopy and franchise cost?

Canopy and's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at a range disclosed in Item 7 and a 5% royalty. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote.

How much profit does a Canopy and franchise make?

Canopy and makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Canopy and at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Canopy and disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Canopy and's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing: 50% of travel & hospitality franchisors in our corpus do disclose.

Are there lawsuits against Canopy and?

Canopy and's most recently filed FDD (2026) discloses 11 legal proceedings in Item 3. Item 3 covers the franchisor, its predecessors, parents and affiliates — so a disclosed case is not necessarily a suit against Canopy and itself, and a disclosure is not a finding of wrongdoing. 5 of the disclosed proceedings were brought by franchisees against the franchisor.

Is Canopy and a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Canopy and's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against travel & hospitality peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is high risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Canopy and?

Get a free email when something changes on Canopy and or travel & hospitality: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.