Franchise Facts Report

Franchise Facts Report → brands → Proforma

Proforma franchise — is it worth it?

FDD-based assessment · registered 2025

Medium risk Shrinking network

What Proforma's most recent Franchise Disclosure Document says about the money, the litigation, and the franchisee churn — before you wire a five- or six-figure franchise fee.

Everything below is free, read straight off Proforma's registered filing, with where the numbers land against category peers. Weighing Proforma against other options? Get a free shortlist of franchises that fit your budget.

Get a free franchise shortlistbudget + industry ↓
Total initial investment
$7,030 – $27,695
Top quartile for other · median $235,015
Initial franchise fee
—
FDD Item 5
Royalty
—
FDD Item 6
Item 19 earnings
Not disclosed
no franchisor earnings
Litigation (Item 3)
None
none disclosed
Closure rate
4.8%
FDD Item 20
Outlet network
461 units
-22 last year

Figures above are as disclosed in Proforma's most recent FDD (registered 2025). Source: Minnesota Dept. of Commerce — CARDS franchise registrations · filing 35559-202603-13 — check it yourself. See every other Minnesota-registered franchise.

Free · no obligation

Considering Proforma? See what else fits your budget

Tell us your budget and the industries you're open to. We'll match you with 5–10 franchises whose own FDDs fit — ranked by earnings disclosure, growth and closure rate — and email you the list. Proforma will be on it if it fits.

Industries (pick any)

We email you the shortlist and nothing you didn't ask for. Your details go to a consultant only if you tick the box above.

Proforma franchise profit — what the FDD discloses

Plainly: Proforma does not disclose franchise profit or revenue. Its most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-backed earnings figure for Proforma — any number quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure. The absence is itself worth weighing; the fees, litigation and outlet churn Proforma's FDD does contain are on this page. For brands that put earnings on paper, see Other franchises with disclosed Item 19 earnings.

Proforma lawsuits & legal history (FDD Item 3)

Proforma's most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2025) discloses no litigation in Item 3. That is a real signal rather than a gap: the FTC Franchise Rule requires a franchisor to disclose material litigation involving itself, its predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 in a current filing means there was nothing it was required to report. It is worth reading alongside the churn numbers — a system can have a clean Item 3 and still be losing franchisees, which is what Item 20 shows.

Proforma closures & failure rate

Before you sign, Proforma will hand you a list of current owners to call as references — and they choose who's on that list. It won't include the owners who quit, got bought out, or were forced out last year. The FDD does report that number, even though the reference list leaves those people off. Below is what Proforma's most recent filing shows, and whether it's normal for a franchise of this kind.

The closest thing an FDD has to a failure rate is Item 20 — outlet openings, closures, terminations and non-renewals, reported by the franchisor. Proforma's latest tables show a shrinking franchised network — more units left than opened. Its franchised-outlet closure rate — closures, terminations and non-renewals against outlets — is 4.8%. Net franchised outlets moved -22 to 461 in the latest reported year.

Who owns Proforma?

Proforma's franchise is offered by PFG VENTURES, L.P — the franchisor named on the cover of its most recently filed Franchise Disclosure Document (2025), and the entity a franchisee actually signs with. That name comes straight off the filing at MN CARDS; it identifies the franchisor, not necessarily the ultimate parent company behind it.

Compare Proforma head-to-head

EOS Worldwide vs Proformacost · earnings · failure rateFrontier Adjusters vs Proformacost · earnings · failure ratePackagehub Business Centers vs Proformacost · earnings · failure rateProforma vs CMIT Solutionscost · earnings · failure rateProforma vs Integra Realty Resourcescost · earnings · failure rateProforma vs Schooley Mitchellcost · earnings · failure rateProforma vs Sunbelt Business Brokerscost · earnings · failure rateProforma vs TeamLogic ITcost · earnings · failure rateSignarama vs Proformacost · earnings · failure rateStroll, Greet vs Proformacost · earnings · failure rate

Franchises at a similar investment level at a similar investment level

Anyone weighing Proforma is really weighing it against the other brands their money could go into. These are the closest by total initial investment (FDD Item 7), each with its own FDD-based page.

Coffee News$11,150 – $12,250Bubbles The Color Salon Standard$10,000 – $15,000 · Item 19 disclosedHair Cuttery Standard$10,000 – $15,000 · Item 19 disclosedBig O Tires (PDF)$6,000 – $20,000Green Mill Restaurants$10,000 – $17,000Card My Yard$10,350 – $18,550 · Item 19 disclosedCruiseOne Dream Vacations$11,800 – $21,000Alta Cal Tech Services$11,600 – $31,400ProColor Collision$38,300 – $199,500Project LeanNation$237,500 – $354,000 · Item 19 disclosedPrimos Franchise Holdings VIII$100,000 – $595,000ProLift Garage Doorsinvestment not disclosed

Proforma franchise — frequently asked

Who owns Proforma — who is the franchisor?

Proforma's most recently filed FDD (2025) names PFG VENTURES, L.P as the franchisor — the entity you would actually sign the franchise agreement with, as stated on the disclosure document itself. A registry filing names the franchisor, not necessarily its ultimate parent company.

How much does a Proforma franchise cost?

Proforma's most recently filed FDD (Item 7) puts the total estimated initial investment at $7,030 – $27,695. That price is the franchisor's own estimate of what it takes to open, not a quote. Against category peers it sits in the top quartile (median $235,015).

How much profit does a Proforma franchise make?

Proforma makes no Item 19 financial performance representation, so there is no franchisor-disclosed revenue or profit figure for Proforma at all — and profit would never be disclosed even where earnings are, because it depends on your rent, labor and how you operate. Any profit figure quoted elsewhere is an estimate, not a disclosure.

Does Proforma disclose financial performance (Item 19)?

No — Proforma's most recent FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation. Its absence is worth weighing.

Are there lawsuits against Proforma?

No — Proforma's most recently filed FDD (2025) discloses no litigation in Item 3. Franchisors must disclose material litigation involving themselves, their predecessors, parents, affiliates and management, so an empty Item 3 is a genuine signal rather than an omission.

Is Proforma a good franchise to buy?

Nobody can answer that from Proforma's numbers alone — it comes down to how its investment, earnings, litigation and franchisee churn stack up against category peers and against your own budget. Our read on this filing is medium risk. Every figure behind that read is on this page for free. If you're comparing options, the free shortlist on this page matches you with 5–10 franchises that fit your budget and industry.

Just watching Proforma?

Get a free email when something changes on Proforma or this category: a new FDD registration, a new lawsuit, an outlet count that shifts, or Item 19 earnings going from undisclosed to disclosed. Pulled straight from the same state registries this page is built on.

This report compiles and structures publicly filed Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) data from state franchise registrations. It is not legal, financial, or investment advice, is not affiliated with or endorsed by any franchisor, and does not replace reading the full FDD or consulting a franchise attorney or accountant. All figures are as disclosed by the franchisor in its most recent registered FDD. Item 19 financial performance representations are made at the franchisor’s option and may be absent or limited.